Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join the APA
Member/Site Search

12/24/2016 » 1/2/2017
APA National Office Closed

12/24/2016 » 1/2/2017
APA National Office Closed

1/4/2017 » 1/7/2017
2017 Eastern Division Meeting

Book Prize
Share |

The APA alternates giving an award to the best article and book published by a younger scholar in the previous two years. The Book and Article Prizes replace the former Matchette Foundation Book Prize.


The winner of the award will receive $4,000 and be presented with the prize at the APA's Eastern Division meeting.

Frequency: Every other year in odd years

Award Amount: $4,000

Next Award: 2017

Next Deadline: January 15, 2017


The author must be a "younger scholar," meaning that the author (a) was 40 years of age or younger in the year the book was published, or (b) received his or her Ph.D. 10 or fewer years before the year in which the book was published. The nominee must be a member of the APA. The APA will contact nominated authors for assurances of eligibility and to secure copies of the nominated book.

Nominations are opened every other spring in odd years for the Book Prize for that year. Books published in the prior two years are eligible. Thus, for 2017, the prize will be awarded to a book published in 2015 or 2016. Eligibility is governed by the year of the book's copyright imprint.

Questions may be directed to [email protected].


To be considered for the Book Prize, a book must be nominated by two members of the APA other than the author. A member may nominate only one book. Nominations need only identify the author, title, publisher, and publication date. 

Only members may submit nominations; please sign in to access the nomination form.

To submit a nomination, fill out the nomination form.

Selection Process

The winners will be selected by a committee appointed by the chair of the committee on lectures, publications, and research (LPR), in consultation with LPR committee members.

Previous Awardees


Manuel VargasBuilding Better Beings: A Theory of Moral Responsibility (Oxford University Press)

Honorable Mentions:


Cara Nine, Global Justice and Territory (Oxford University Press)

Honorable Mentions:


Lisa Bortolotti, Delusions and Other Irrational Beliefs (Oxford University Press)

Honorable Mention: Jonathan Cohen, The Red and the Real: An Essay on Color Ontology (Oxford University Press)


Simon Keller, The Limits of Loyalty (Cambridge University Press)

Honorable Mentions:


Jason Stanley, Knowledge and Practical Interests (Oxford University Press)

Honorable Mentions:


Robert Pasnau, Thomas Aquinas on Human Nature (Cambridge University Press)

Honorable Mentions:


Ted Sider, Four-Dimensionalism: An Ontology of Persistence and Time (Oxford University Press)


Charles Siewert, The Significance of Consciousness (Princeton University Press)

Honorable Mention: Elijah Millgram, Practical Induction (Harvard University Press)


Michael Smith, The Moral Problem (Wiley)

Honorable Mentions:

Sign In

Forgot your password?

Become an APA member!

Join iGive and support the APA with your online shopping.

With Amazon Smile, Amazon will donate 0.5% of your order to the APA at no cost to you. Combine iGive and Amazon Smile and the APA will receive a donation totaling 1.3% of your order..

Amazon Smile logo
The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690
Email: [email protected]