Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join the APA
Member/Site Search
APA Prizes and Fellowships
Share |

APA/PDC Prize for Excellence and Innovation in Philosophy Programs (next deadline June 30, 2015)
The APA/PDC prize recognizes philosophy departments, research centers, institutes, societies, publishers, or other organizations for creating programs that risk undertaking new initiatives in philosophy and do so with excellence and success.

Article Prize (next deadline March 15, 2016)
The article prize is for the best article published by a younger scholar in the previous two years.

Barwise Prize
The Barwise prize is for significant and sustained contributions to areas relevant to philosophy and computing.

Baumgardt Memorial Fellowship (next deadline November 1, 2016)
The Baumgardt fellowship is for the support and dissemination of research in the field of ethics.

Berger Memorial Prize (next deadline June 15, 2016)
The Berger prize is awarded to an outstanding published article in philosophy of law.

Book Prize (nominations closed)
The book prize is for the best book published by a younger scholar in the previous two years.

Carus Lectures
The Carus lectures are a series of three lectures presented over three consecutive days in plenary sessions at a divisional meeting of the APA.

Joyce Mitchell Cook Award
The Joyce Mitchell Cook award is a biennial award in honor of Joyce Mitchell Cook, the first black woman to receive a Ph.D. in philosophy in the United States, recognizing a book written by a trailblazing black woman philosopher.

Walter de Gruyter Stiftung Kant Lecture Series
The Walter de Gruyter Stiftung Kant lecture series is open to a broad approach to Kantian philosophy across the philosophical disciplines.

John Dewey Lectures
Each John Dewey lecture is given by a prominent and senior (typically retired) American philosopher who is invited to reflect, broadly and in an autobiographical spirit, on philosophy in America.

Edinburgh Fellowship (next deadline December 15, 2015)
The APA sponsors one visiting research fellowship per year at the Institute for Advanced Studies in the Humanities at the University of Edinburgh.

Essay Prize in Latin American Thought (next deadline June 5, 2015)
The essay prize in Latin American thought is awarded to the author of the best unpublished, English-language, philosophical essay in Latin American thought.

Joseph B. Gittler Award (nominations closed)
The Joseph B. Gittler award is given for an outstanding scholarly contribution in the field of the philosophy of one or more of the social sciences.

Jean Hampton Prize
The Jean Hampton prize is awarded to a philosopher at a junior career stage whose paper is accepted for the Pacific Division meeting.

William James Prize
The Eastern Division awards the William James prize to the best paper in the area of American philosophy that is both (a) written by a philosopher who received the Ph.D. within five years of the beginning of the calendar year in which the paper is submitted, or is a graduate student, and (b) accepted for inclusion in the Eastern Division program by the program committee through the normal process of anonymous-reviewing.

Gregory Kavka/UC Irvine Prize in Political Philosophy (next deadline May 31, 2016)
The Gregory Kavka/UCI prize in political philosophy is awarded to the author of a paper in a refereed journal, an original book chapter, or an original essay published in a collection with a multiplicity of contributors, from any area of political philosophy and political theory.

Dr. Martin R. Lebowitz and Eve Lewellis Lebowitz Prizes (next deadline November 1, 2015)
The Dr. Martin R. Lebowitz and Eve Lewellis Lebowitz prizes are high honors for philosophical achievement and contribution. Each year at the Lebowitz prize symposium at an APA divisional meeting, the two prize winners present lectures offering contrasting views on an important philosophical issue of current interest. The winners also receive a substantial monetary award.

Prometheus Prize This prize has been temporarily suspended.
The Prometheus prize honors a distinguished philosopher in recognition of his or her lifetime contribution to ‘expanding the frontiers of research in philosophy and science.’

Public Philosophy Op-Ed Contest (next deadline April 15, 2015)
The public philosophy op-ed contest is for the best opinion-editorials published by philosophers.

Quinn Prize
The Philip L. Quinn prize is awarded in recognition of service to philosophy and philosophers, broadly construed.

Rockefeller Prize (next deadline November 1, 2015)
The Rockefeller prize is awarded for the best unpublished article-length work in philosophy by a non-academically affiliated philosopher.

Romanell Lecture
The Patrick Romanell lecture is presented annually at a divisional meeting of the APA on the topic of philosophical naturalism.

Routledge, Taylor & Francis Prize (next deadline April 30, 2015)
The Routledge, Taylor & Francis prize recognizes the scholarly work of adjunct professors.

Royce Lectures
The Josiah Royce lectureship is on the philosophy of mind.

Sanders Book Prize (nominations closed)
The Sanders book prize is awarded to the best book in philosophy of mind, metaphysics, or epistemology that engages the analytic tradition published in English in the previous five year period.

Sanders Lecture
The Sanders lecture is presented annually at a divisional meeting of the APA on a topic in philosophy of mind, metaphysics, or epistemology that engages the analytic tradition.

Schutz Lecture This prize has been temporarily suspended.
The Alfred Schutz lecture in social philosophy or the philosophy of the human sciences is given by a philosopher with distinction in one of these fields, with preference for work that employs phenomenological or humanistic approaches in the analysis of society or social phenomena.

Frank Chapman Sharp Memorial Prize (next deadline January 15, 2017)
The Frank Chapman Sharp prize is awarded to the best unpublished essay or monograph on the philosophy of war and peace.

New Prizes

The APA is always open to new prizes and fellowships. If you are interested in creating a new prize, please review our information on Establishing New Prizes.

Sign In

Forgot your password?

Become an APA member!

Join iGive and support the APA with your online shopping.

With Amazon Smile, Amazon will donate 0.5% of your order to the APA at no cost to you. Combine iGive and Amazon Smile and the APA will receive a donation totaling 1.3% of your order..

Amazon Smile logo
The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690