Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join the APA
Member/Site Search
Rockefeller Prize
Share |

This prize began as a five-year series of annual awards funded by a grant from the Rockefeller Foundation (1984-1988). In 1993, the Rockefeller Foundation gave its approval for the revival of this prize, which is awarded for the best unpublished article-length work in philosophy by a non-academically affiliated philosopher. The winner's work will be published in the Journal of Value Inquiry, by mutual agreement of the author and the editors of the journal.

Frequency: Every other year in even years

Award Amount: $1,000

Last Award: 2014

Next Award: 2016

Next deadline: November 1, 2015

Submissions Procedures

The APA invites members who have no permanent academic affiliation to participate in this competition for the best unpublished paper-length work in philosophy. To qualify, one may in fact be teaching at a university in a part-time or a full-time temporary position as long as one also meets the following requirements:

  • Authors must not hold a full-time position at an institution of higher education that continues beyond the end of the current academic year, nor may they have held such a position within the last three years.
  • The author must hold a Ph.D. in philosophy or its equivalent at the time of submission.
  • The author must be a current member of the APA in good standing.
  • Current graduate students and professors emeriti are not eligible. Previous winners of this prize are not eligible.

Submissions must be unpublished at the time of submission,* with all references that would identify the author removed. Submissions must be no more than 40 double-spaced pages in length (including notes). Submit the work to be considered, together with your current CV.

*The manuscript may be under review at a journal, or may be sent out for review after submission.

Questions may be directed to

All material must be submitted as a single PDF file.

Only members may submit for this prize; please sign in to access the submission form.

Fill out the submission form.

Selection Process

The winning entry is selected by a committee appointed by the chair of the APA's committee on lectures, publications, and research, in consultation with LPR committee members.

Reviewing will be anonymous. The prize amount is $1,000. Co-authors of a winning submission, or authors of winning submissions judged to be equal in merit, will share equally in the prize. The prize will be announced in the Proceedings and Addresses, and it is expected (but not required) that the winning submission will be published in the Journal of Value Inquiry.

Previous Awardees


Greg Damico, "Sameness in Being Is Sameness in Species Or: Was an Aristotelian Philosophy of Identity Ever Credible?"

Vaughn Baltzly, "Four Strikes for Pluralist Liberalism (And Two Cheers for Classical Liberalism)"


David Schwarz, Using Ordinary Proper Names

Honorable Mention: H.G. Callaway, Semantic Contextualism and Scientific Pluralism


Kristoffer Ahlstrom, What Descartes Didn't Know


Glen Hoffmann, Truth, Superassertability, and Conceivability


Jessica Wiskus, Depth-Light-Being: Mythical Time and the Musical Idea through Merleau- Ponty


Brian Ribeiro, Skeptical Parasitism and the Continuity Argument


Matthew McCormick, Another Look at Kant's Subjective Deduction

A. Minh Nguyen, Davidson on First-Person Authority


No award given


Roger Wertheimer, Quotational Synonymy


Vernon Sarver Jr., Kant's 'Social Contract' and the Death Penalty


John Pepple, A Lost Fragment of Empedocles


Arnold Chien, The Concept of Speaker's Meaning


Ronald Hoeflin, Theories of Truth: A Comprehensive Synthesis


Richard Brockhaus, Realism and Psychologism in 19th Century Logic


Quentin Smith, Problems with the New Tenseless Theory of Time


Peter M. Brown, Tarski, Truth and Realism


W.J. Talbot, Benefit Spreading Agreements and Justice


Quentin Smith, The Infinite Regress of Temporal Attributions


James McCall, "Kant's Later Physics and Shroedinger's Wave Mechanics: Towards an Ontology of Inorganic Nature"

Sign In

Forgot your password?

Become an APA member!

Join iGive and support the APA with your online shopping.

With Amazon Smile, Amazon will donate 0.5% of your order to the APA at no cost to you. Combine iGive and Amazon Smile and the APA will receive a donation totaling 1.3% of your order..

Amazon Smile logo
The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690