Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join the APA
Member/Site Search
Division: Central
Group Pages

About the Division

The Central Division is one of three divisions of the American Philosophical Association, along with the Eastern and Pacific Divisions. In accordance with the APA's Bylaws, each Division is responsible for holding an annual meeting, and the Bylaws state that the Central Division's meeting is to be "in the Midwest." Past Central Division meeting locations have ranged from Denver to Pittsburgh and from Minneapolis to New Orleans.

Although the Divisions have geographical names, any Regular Member of the APA may choose to be affiliated with any one of the Divisions. Any APA member can submit papers to be considered for presentation at Central Division meetings. The Central Division's Program Committee also relies heavily on volunteers in finding commentators and chairs for submitted paper sessions, and anyone may volunteer. However, only members affiliated with the Central Division may be officers of the Central Division, serve on the Division's Executive Committee, Nominating Committee, or Program Committees, or vote in Central Division elections.

Position Opening: Secretary-Treasurer of the Central Division

This spring, the Central Division voted to change the position of secretary-treasurer from an elected to an appointed position. In accordance with that decision, the Central Division solicits applications for secretary-treasurer.

Division Information

Central Division Bylaws

Central Division Officers

Central Division Programs

Policies and Procedures for Central Division programs

Central Division Business Meeting Minutes

Central Division Executive Committee Meeting Minutes

Central Division Nominating Committee Report 2015

Recent Meetings




Upcoming Events
Nomination deadline for the 2017 Gregory Kavka/UCI Prize in Political Philosophy
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Submission deadline for the 2016 Essay Prize in Latin American Thought
Sunday, June 05, 2016
Nomination deadline for the Berger Memorial Prize
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Nomination deadline for the APA/PDC Prize
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Proposal submission deadline for Small Grant funding and for Diversity & Inclusiveness funding
Thursday, June 30, 2016

Related Group News

APA Central Division election results announced
Posted in APA Announcements, Friday, May 20, 2016

The Central Division of the APA recently held elections for vice president / president-elect, executive committee member-at-large, and nominating committee. Voting was conducted via electronic ... more »

 View All News »

Member-at-Large (2016)
Jeanine M. Grenberg
Member-at-Large (2017)
Diane L. Jeske
Member-at-Large (2018)
Ann E. Cudd
Past President
Elizabeth S. Anderson
Linda T. Zagzebski
Andrea C. Westlund
Robin Smith
Vice President
Valerie Tiberius


Sign In

Forgot your password?

Become an APA member!

Join iGive and support the APA with your online shopping.

With Amazon Smile, Amazon will donate 0.5% of your order to the APA at no cost to you. Combine iGive and Amazon Smile and the APA will receive a donation totaling 1.3% of your order..

Amazon Smile logo
The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690