Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join the APA
Member/Site Search

APA National Office Closed

Division: Eastern
Group Pages


The Eastern Division is one of three divisions of the American Philosophical Association, along with the Central and Pacific Divisions. Each year the division holds a meeting in late December or early January on or near the Atlantic Coast; recent and upcoming meeting locations include Atlanta, Philadelphia, Baltimore, and Washington, DC.


The Eastern Division is soliciting volunteers to comment or chair a session at the upcoming meeting to be held in Baltimore, January 4-7, 2017.

If you are interested in commenting or volunteering for a session, please fill out this form by May 20.

If you have any questions please contact Andrew Cullison (, Eastern Division Secretary-Treasurer or Jeffrey Dunn (, Eastern Division Secretary-Treasurer-Designate

2016 Eastern Division Elections 

Elections will soon begin for elected positions in the Eastern APA. If you are an Eastern Division member, you will receive an electronic ballot on May 23, 2016. Please see this document for information about candidates. 

Group and Committee Session Requests for 2017 Meeting

We are now accepting requests from affiliated groups and APA committees. Fill out this form by June 5, 2016 to reserve your spot!

This year, the Eastern Division will accept proposals from any group affiliated with any of the three divisions. There is no need to apply separately to be affiliated with the Eastern Division. More details about Group and Committee Sessions Requests are available here

Division Information

Eastern Division Bylaws

Eastern Division Officers

Eastern Division Programs

Eastern Division Business Meeting Minutes

Eastern Division Executive Committee Minutes

Eastern Division Nominating Committee Report 2013



Recent Meetings




Only groups affiliated with the Eastern Division may put on sessions at the division's meetings. See a list of currently affiliated groups.


Eastern Division on Facebook

Eastern Division on Twitter

Upcoming Events
Nomination deadline for the 2017 Gregory Kavka/UCI Prize in Political Philosophy
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Submission deadline for the 2016 Essay Prize in Latin American Thought
Sunday, June 05, 2016
Nomination deadline for the Berger Memorial Prize
Wednesday, June 15, 2016
Nomination deadline for the APA/PDC Prize
Thursday, June 30, 2016
Proposal submission deadline for Small Grant funding and for Diversity & Inclusiveness funding
Thursday, June 30, 2016

Related Group News

2016 Eastern Division elections
Posted in APA Announcements, Monday, May 23, 2016

The 2016 Eastern Division elections are now underway. Like last year, the elections will be handled electronically. Eastern Division affiliates will receive an electronic ballot ... more »

 View All News »

Member-at-Large (2016)
Jose Medina
Member-at-Large (2016)
J. D. Velleman
Member-at-Large (2017)
Michael A. Smith
Member-at-Large (2017)
Gail Weiss
Member-at-Large (2018)
Noelle McAfee
Member-at-Large (2018)
Amie L. Thomasson
Past President
Thomas Hill Jr.
Louise Antony
Geoffrey Sayre-McCord
Andrew M. Cullison
Vice President
Eva F. Kittay

Sign In

Forgot your password?

Become an APA member!

Join iGive and support the APA with your online shopping.

With Amazon Smile, Amazon will donate 0.5% of your order to the APA at no cost to you. Combine iGive and Amazon Smile and the APA will receive a donation totaling 1.3% of your order..

Amazon Smile logo
The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690