Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
Committee: Teaching of Philosophy

Committee Charge

The committee is charged with assessing trends and needs in the teaching of philosophy and making recommendations for action by the board. It sponsors sessions on the teaching of philosophy at divisional meetings, responds to requests from members and others regarding teaching, and undertakes programs for the improvement of teaching. At the direction of the board, it prepares statements for board approval regarding instruction in philosophy.

The chairs of the committee on philosophy in two-year colleges and the committee on pre-college instruction in philosophy and the president of the American Association of Philosophy Teachers serve in an ex officio capacity on this committee.

The committee also publishes the Newsletter on Teaching Philosophy, whose editor serves in an ex officio capacity on this committee.

Newsletter on Teaching Philosophy

Upcoming APA Sessions on Pedagogy

2018 Eastern Division Meeting:

The AAPT/APA Teaching Hub, a day-long mini-conference on the teaching of philosophy. Full schedule available Fall 2017.

2018 Pacific Division Meeting:

The AAPT/APA Teaching Hub, a two-day mini-conference on the teaching of philosophy. Full schedule available Fall 2017.

"The Teacher's Workshop" on the new APA Blog

The "Teacher's Workshop" is a recurring feature on the new APA Blog in which APA members can submit questions about the teaching of philosophy. Two or three philosophy teachers are selected to answer each question, and then the discussion is opened up for a broader community response. Please e-mail your questions to Jennifer Morton and/or Michelle Saint at: [email protected].

CTP Facebook Pages

Our Committee maintains two Facebook pages: APA Committee on Teaching, an open page, is used to publicize events, calls, initiatives, and projects related to teaching, while APA Teaching Workshop, a closed group page, is used to feed and extend discussion of our APA Blog feature "The Teaching Workshop." You must actively check the open page from time to time, but joining the group page will generate e-mail alerts.

Journals accepting papers on the teaching of philosophy 

Teaching Philosophy

AAPT Studies in Pedagogy

Journal of the American Philosophical Association

Analytic Teaching and Philosophical Praxis

Teaching Ethics

Questions: Philosophy for Young People

Committee Reports

2015-2016 report

2014-2015 report 

2013-2014 report

2012-2013 report

2011-2012 report

2010-2011 report

2009-2010 report

2008-2009 report

2007-2008 report

Teaching Resources

Teaching Resources

Syllabi collected by the APA Committee on Inclusiveness in the Profession

Upcoming Events
Membership dues deadline
Friday, September 1, 2017
Nominations open for APA leadership positions
Friday, September 15, 2017
Deadline to submit reports for the fall board meeting
Saturday, September 30, 2017
Application deadline for grant requests from the Berry fund
Saturday, September 30, 2017
Deadline to submit APA leadership nominations
Tuesday, October 31, 2017

Related Group News

SOPHIA Wins the 2017 Prize for Excellence and Innovation
Posted in APA Announcements, Wednesday, August 9, 2017

The American Philosophical Association (APA) and the Philosophy Documentation Center (PDC) jointly sponsor the Prize for Excellence and Innovation in Philosophy Programs. This prize recognizes ... more »

 View All News »

Associate Chair (2018)
David W. Concepcion
Chair (2018)
Alexandra E. Bradner
ex officio (2018)
Sara L. Goering
ex officio (2019)
Richard Legum
ex officio (AAPT)
Andrew Mills
Member (2018)
Michelle Saint
Member (2018)
Ian A. Smith
Member (2019)
Zachary Barnett
Member (2019)
Mark N. Jensen
Member (2020)
Ruth Boeker
Member (2020)
Robin L. Zebrowski
Newsletter Editor
Tziporah Kasachkoff
Newsletter Editor
Eugene Kelly


The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690