Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join the APA
Member/Site Search

APA National Office Closed

Deadline to submit reports for the fall board meeting

Committee: Status of Black Philosophers

Committee Charge

The committee is charged with assessing and reporting on the status of black philosophers. Among its responsibilities are to identify unfair or discriminatory practices and to advise the board and the members of the association of ways in which they may be rectified; to advise black philosophers concerning means of overcoming discrimination that they may encounter; and to make reports and recommendations to the board concerning ways in which full and meaningful equality of opportunity can be provided to all individuals who seek to study, teach, or conduct research in philosophy.

The committee also publishes the Newsletter on Philosophy and the Black Experience, the editors of which serve in an ex officio capacity on this committee.

In addition, this committee presents the Joyce Mitchell Cook award, recognizing a book written by a trailblazing black woman philosopher.

Committee Reports

2014 report

2013 report

2012 - no report submitted

2011 report

2010 report

2009 report

2008 report

Newsletter on Philosophy and the Black Experience

Current issue


Upcoming Events
Nominations open for APA leadership positions
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Deadline to submit reports for the fall board meeting
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Deadline to submit APA leadership nominations
Saturday, October 31, 2015

Related Group News

Public philosophy op-ed contest winners announced
Posted in APA Announcements, Tuesday, September 01, 2015

The APA is pleased to announce our most recent award winners. Congratulations to all! 2015 Public Philosophy Op-Ed Contest Mariana Alessandri “Companions in Misery” The Stone ... more »

 View All News »

Associate Chair (2016)
Julie Maybee
Chair (2016)
Tina F. Botts
Member (2016)
Johnathan Flowers
Member (2016)
Elizabeth Minnich
Member (2016)
Cavin Robinson
Member (2017)
Nathaniel A. Coleman
Member (2017)
Lee A. McBride III
Member (2017)
Naomi Zack
Member (2018)
Timothy J. Golden
Member (2018)
Rodmon King
Member (2018)
Dwayne A. Tunstall
Newsletter Editor
Tina F. Botts
Newsletter Editor
John H. McClendon
Newsletter Editor
George D. Yancy


Sign In

Forgot your password?

Become an APA member!

Join iGive and support the APA with your online shopping.

With Amazon Smile, Amazon will donate 0.5% of your order to the APA at no cost to you. Combine iGive and Amazon Smile and the APA will receive a donation totaling 1.3% of your order..

Amazon Smile logo
The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690