Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join the APA
Member/Site Search

12/19/2014 » 1/4/2015
APA National Office Closed

12/27/2014 » 12/30/2014
2014 Eastern Division Meeting

2/18/2015 » 2/21/2015
2015 Central Division Meeting

Committee: Indigenous Philosophers

Committee Charge

The committee is charged with assessing and reporting on the status of indigenous people in the profession and with exploring the sources and supporting the development of indigenous philosophy. Among its main responsibilities are to identify unfair or discriminatory practices affecting indigenous philosophers in their professional work and to apprise the board and members of the association of ways in which such practices may be rectified; to inform indigenous philosophers concerning means of overcoming discrimination that they may encounter in the profession; and to make reports and recommendations to the board concerning ways in which full and meaningful equality of opportunity can be provided to all individuals who seek to study, teach or conduct research in philosophy. Further, the committee is concerned with the teaching and research of indigenous philosophers and those interested in indigenous philosophy. It seeks to facilitate philosophical understanding of tribal identity and diversity and of different views of indigenous cultures and traditions.

The committee also publishes the Newsletter on Indigenous Philosophers, the editor of which serves in an ex officio capacity on the committee.

Committee Reports

2013 - no report submitted

2012 - no report submitted

2011 report

2010 report

2009 report

2008 report

Newsletter on Indigenous Philosophy

Current issue


Upcoming Events
Deadline for committee and at-large board nominations
Saturday, October 31, 2015

Related Group News

American Philosophical Association requests proposals for diversity and inclusiveness grants
Posted in Press Releases, Wednesday, December 11, 2013

American Philosophical Association requests proposals for diversity and inclusiveness grants Contact: Amy Ferrer, Executive Director, Today the American Philosophical Association announced that, in keeping ... more »

 View All News »

Chair (2017)
Kyle P. Whyte
Member (2015)
Thomas Norton-Smith
Member (2015)
Naomi Zack
Member (2016)
Agnes B. Curry
Member (2017)
Zayin L. Cabot
Member (2017)
Jacob M. Held
Newsletter Editor
Shawn Burns
Newsletter Editor
Agnes B. Curry
Newsletter Editor
Anne S. Waters J.D. Ph.D.
Newsletter Editor
Shay Welch
Newsletter Editor
Kyle P. Whyte


Sign In

Forgot your password?

Become an APA member!

Join iGive and support the APA with your online shopping.

With Amazon Smile, Amazon will donate 0.5% of your order to the APA at no cost to you. Combine iGive and Amazon Smile and the APA will receive a donation totaling 1.3% of your order..

Amazon Smile logo
The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690