Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join the APA
Member/Site Search

Membership Dues Deadline

Deadline to submit reports for the fall board meeting

Committee: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, & Transgender Philosophers

Committee Charge

The committee is charged with assessing and reporting on the status of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) people in the profession. Its main responsibilities are to identify unfair or discriminatory practices affecting LGBT philosophers in their professional work and to apprise the board and members of the association of ways in which such practices may be rectified; to inform LGBT philosophers concerning means of overcoming discrimination that they may encounter in the profession; and to make reports and recommendations to the board concerning ways in which full and meaningful equality of opportunity can be provided to all individuals who seek to study, teach, or conduct research in philosophy. The committee is also concerned with teaching and research. It seeks to facilitate an understanding of and investigation into issues of sexuality, diversity in affectional preference or orientation, sexual identity, and the range of positions represented in theories about LGBT people.

The committee also publishes the Newsletter on LGBT Issues in Philosophy, the editor of which serves in an ex officio capacity on the committee.

Committee Reports

2014 - no report submitted

2013 - no report submitted

2012 report

2011 report

2010 report

2009 report

2008 report

Newsletter on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Issues in Philosophy

Current issue


Upcoming Events
Pacific Division paper submission deadline
Tuesday, September 01, 2015
Nominations open for APA leadership positions
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Deadline to submit reports for the fall board meeting
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Deadline to submit APA leadership nominations
Saturday, October 31, 2015

Related Group News

Leadership nominations have moved to the fall
Posted in APA Announcements, Monday, March 02, 2015

The APA is pleased to announce that the timing of the leadership nominations process is changing. Prior to this year, the process lasted eighteen months ... more »

 View All News »

Chair (2018)
Asta K. Sveinsdottir
Member (2016)
Samantha Brennan
Member (2016)
Christopher P. La Barbera
Member (2017)
Mary K. Bloodsworth-Lugo
Member (2017)
Michael P. Goerger
Member (2017)
Mary B. Mader
Member (2018)
Kenny K. Easwaran
Newsletter Editor
Kory P. Schaff


Sign In

Forgot your password?

Become an APA member!

Join iGive and support the APA with your online shopping.

With Amazon Smile, Amazon will donate 0.5% of your order to the APA at no cost to you. Combine iGive and Amazon Smile and the APA will receive a donation totaling 1.3% of your order..

Amazon Smile logo
The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690