Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join the APA
Member/Site Search

APA National Office Closed

3/1/2017 » 3/4/2017
2017 Central Division Meeting

News and Announcements: APA Announcements

Gines wins inaugural Joyce Mitchell Cook Award

Tuesday, January 27, 2015   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Linda Nuoffer
Share |
At the 2014 APA Eastern Division Meeting, the Committee on the Status of Black Philosophers (CSBP) presented the inaugural Joyce Mitchell Cook award to Kathryn Gines, Assistant Professor of Philosophy, Pennsylvania State University, and founding director of the Collegium of Black Women Philosophers. The Joyce Mitchell Cook award, created by the CSBP under the leadership of chair Tina Botts, is a biennial award recognizing a book written by a trailblazing Black woman philosopher. Gines received the first award for Hannah Arendt and the Negro Question (Indiana University Press, 2014). Charles Mills and George Yancy presented the award to Gines on behalf of Botts and the entire committee.

Sign In

Forgot your password?

Become an APA member!

Join iGive and support the APA with your online shopping.

With Amazon Smile, Amazon will donate 0.5% of your order to the APA at no cost to you. Combine iGive and Amazon Smile and the APA will receive a donation totaling 1.3% of your order..

Amazon Smile logo
The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690
Email: [email protected]