Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
News and Announcements: APA Announcements

APA Committee Appointments Announced

Friday, February 24, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Linda Nuoffer
Share |

The APA board of officers is pleased to announce the committee appointments for terms starting July 1, 2017 (unless otherwise noted). Congratulations to the appointees and thanks to all who were willing to serve!

Academic Career Opportunities and Placement

Victor Kumar (University of Toronto)
Ileana Szymanski (University of Scranton)
Shay Welch (Spelman College)

Asian and Asian-American Philosophers and Philosophies

Julianne Chung (University of Louisville)
Monika Kirloskar‐Steinbach (University Konstanz)

Defense of the Professional Rights of Philosophers

Ann Garry (Cal State LA)
Mark Pickering (Lynn University) — beginning immediately


L. Sebastian Purcell (SUNY Cortland)
Marta Jimenez (Emory University)

Inclusiveness in the Profession

Wiebke Deimling (Clark University) — Disability Representative
Noell Birondo (Wichita State University)

Indigenous Philosophers

Robert Figueroa (Oregon State University) — beginning immediately
James Maffie (University of Maryland)

International Cooperation

Esa Diaz‐Leon (University of Barcelona, Spain)
Adam Hosein (University of Colorado, Boulder)
Jiewuh Song (Seoul National University)

Lectures, Publications, and Research

Peter Baumann (Swarthmore College)
Julia Driver (Washington University St. Louis)
Michael Pendlebury (North Carolina State University)
Samuel Rickless (University of California, San Diego)
Aaron Zimmerman (University of California, Santa Barbara)

LGBTQ People in the Profession

Perry Zurn (University of Pennsylvania) — Associate Chair
Saray Ayala (California State University, Sacramento)
Kyle Adams (University of California, Davis)

Non-Academic Careers

Stephen Martin (Tufts University) — Associate Chair
James Bruce (John Brown University)
E. Alex Howe (University of Missouri)

Philosophy and Computers

Gualtiero Piccinini (University of Missouri–St. Louis) — beginning immediately
Susan Sterrett (Wichita State University)
Robin Smith (Texas A&M University)

Philosophy and Law

Robert Hughes (The Wharton School) — Associate Chair
Colleen Murphy (University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign)
Craig Agule (University of California, San Diego)

Philosophy and Medicine

Anna Gotlib (Brooklyn College, CUNY)
Laura Specker Sullivan (Center for Sensorimotor Neural Engineering)

Philosophy in Two-Year Colleges

Bill Hartmann (Saint Louis Community College–Forest Park)
Heather Wilburn (Morningside College)

Pre-College Instruction in Philosophy

Wendy Turgeon (St. Joseph's College) — Associate Chair
Marisol Brito (Metropolitan State University)
Amy Reed‐Sandoval (University of Texas at El Paso)

Public Philosophy

Marcos Bisticas‐Cocoves (Morgan State University)
John Corvino (Wayne State University)
Rebecca Kukla (Georgetown University) — beginning immediately

Status and Future of the Profession

Jennifer Lackey (Northwestern University) — Associate Chair
Stewart Duncan (University of Florida)
Tiger Roholt (Montclair State University)

Status of Black Philosophers

Lucius Outlaw (Vanderbilt University) — beginning immediately
Kevin Richardson (MIT)
Jeanine Schroer (University of Minnesota–Duluth)
Olufemi Taiwo (Cornell)

Status of Women

Rachel McKinnon (College of Charleston)
Julinna Oxley (Coastal Carolina University)
Katie Stockdale (Dalhousie University)

Teaching of Philosophy

David Concepcion (Ball State University) — Associate Chair
Ruth Boeker (University of Melbourne)
Ian Smith (Washburn University)
Robin Zebrowski (Beloit College)

The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690