Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join the APA
Member/Site Search

APA National Office Closed

3/1/2017 » 3/4/2017
2017 Central Division Meeting

Walter de Gruyter Stiftung Kant Lecture Series
Share |

De Gruyter logoDe Gruyter has a long history of publishing Kant scholarship and embraces philosophical work in the Kantian tradition in the broadest sense. To promote and foster the Kantian legacy, the Walter De Gruyter Stiftung—an independent foundation that holds shares in De Gruyter—has made a grant to the American Philosophical Association to organize an annual Walter de Gruyter Stiftung Kant Lecture Series for a period of five years beginning in 2013 with possibility for renewal. The De Gruyter Stiftung explicitly intends the Walter de Gruyter Stiftung Kant Lecture Series to be open to a broad approach to Kantian philosophy across the philosophical disciplines. This may also include contemporary philosophical work in the Kantian tradition.

The Walter de Gruyter Stiftung Kant Lecture Series is offered every year at a divisional meeting on a rotating basis.

Award Amount: $1,500 plus travel costs not to exceed $1,500

Frequency: Annual


The De Gruyter Kant Lecturer is selected by a five-person committee (appointed by the APA), in consultation with members of the APA's committee on lectures, publications, and research. The committee includes one representative from each of the three divisions and former recipients may be invited to serve on the committee. Eligibility for this award is limited to APA members. (Membership may be arranged after the winner is selected.)

Previous Awardees


Béatrice Longuenesse (New York University) - Eastern


Onora O'Neill (University of Cambridge) - Central


Karl Ameriks (University of Notre Dame) - Eastern


Henry Allison (University of California San Diego) - Pacific

Sign In

Forgot your password?

Become an APA member!

Join iGive and support the APA with your online shopping.

With Amazon Smile, Amazon will donate 0.5% of your order to the APA at no cost to you. Combine iGive and Amazon Smile and the APA will receive a donation totaling 1.3% of your order..

Amazon Smile logo
The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690
Email: [email protected]