Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join the APA
Member/Site Search

12/24/2016 » 1/2/2017
APA National Office Closed

1/4/2017 » 1/7/2017
2017 Eastern Division Meeting

Dr. Martin R. Lebowitz and Eve Lewellis Lebowitz Prizes
Share |
Phi Beta Kappa key

The Dr. Martin R. Lebowitz and Eve Lewellis Lebowitz prizes for philosophical achievement and contribution are awarded by the Phi Beta Kappa Society in conjunction with the American Philosophical Association. The associated Lebowitz symposium is to be presented annually at a divisional meeting of the American Philosophical Association. Both societies are grateful to Eve Lewellis Lebowitz for her generous bequest, honoring her late husband, Martin R. Lebowitz, and providing a significant, tangible recognition for excellence in philosophical thought. The dialogic character of the Lebowitz symposium, created by the gift, emphasizes the historic work of philosophy as a process of inquiry.

The symposium program shall ordinarily consist of a pair of annual lectures to be delivered sequentially at a division meeting selected by the honorees, or lacking their agreement, by the Phi Beta Kappa Society. The topic of the lectures shall ordinarily be an important philosophical issue of current interest, and the lectures shall ordinarily be chosen to offer contrasting (not necessarily opposing ) views on that topic.

Honoraria for the symposiasts are funded from the endowment created by the Lebowitzs' $1 million gift. APA members are eligible to nominate or self-nominate. The winners will be selected by a committee appointed jointly by the Phi Beta Kappa Society and the American Philosophical Association, and ratified by the Phi Beta Kappa senate. The prize winners should be members of the American Philosophical Association. (This membership may be arranged after the winners are selected.)

Nomination Process

  1. Fill out the Lebowitz nomination form at the Phi Beta Kappa Society's website. The form includes space for the full names, affiliation, and email addresses for each speaker. The nomination must consist of a pair of speakers who hold contrasting (not necessarily opposing) views on a topic of current interest and importance in philosophy. Candidates need not be members of PBK.

  2. Submit with the nomination form two 300 word abstracts. Each abstract should be tailored to address the specific topic to be discussed as well as the approach of the speaker.

  3. Submit with the nomination form complete CVs for each proposed speaker.

  4. Nominations should include at least two letters of recommendation. Ideally, letter writers will have knowledge of both proposed speakers. Letters should address the stature of the candidate(s) and the relevance of the topic for current debates in philosophy.

  5. Please mail all materials electronically to Laura Hartnett, [email protected]. If electronic submission is not possible, please send hard copy to:

The Committee on the Lebowitz Prizes
The Phi Beta Kappa Society
1606 New Hampshire Ave., NW
Washington, D.C. 20009

The deadline for submitting the nomination form and materials is November 1, 2016.

Previous Awardees


Ernest Sosa and Stephen Stich, "Intuition in Philosophical Methodology" (Pacific)


Alvin Goldman and Jennifer Lackey, “Social Epistemology” (Eastern)


Jonathan Schaffer and Jessica Wilson, "The Role of Grounding in Metaphysics” (Eastern)


Anita Silvers and Eva Feder Kittay, "Expanding Justice, Including Disability” (Eastern)

Anita Silvers (Photo by Emily Lobsinger) Eva Feder Kittay
Anita Silvers
(Photo by Emily Lobsinger)
Eva Feder Kittay
Sign In

Forgot your password?

Become an APA member!

Join iGive and support the APA with your online shopping.

With Amazon Smile, Amazon will donate 0.5% of your order to the APA at no cost to you. Combine iGive and Amazon Smile and the APA will receive a donation totaling 1.3% of your order..

Amazon Smile logo
The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690
Email: [email protected]