Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join the APA
Member/Site Search

12/24/2016 » 1/2/2017
APA National Office Closed

1/4/2017 » 1/7/2017
2017 Eastern Division Meeting

Quinn Prize
Share |

A prize in honor of Philip L. Quinn, awarded in recognition of service to philosophy and philosophers, broadly construed. Any member or living former member of the APA is eligible to receive this prize.

The chair of the committee on lectures, publications, and research will solicit nominations from the board of officers in time to receive all nominations at least six months before the board's annual fall meeting (normally held in November). Nominations should include a statement of support for the nominee. The national office, working with the chair of the LPR committee, will then gather additional background information on the service of each nominee from publicly available data sources and distribute that information to the board at or before the fall board meeting. At its fall meeting, the board will select the winner from among the nominees. Members of the board are not eligible to receive the prize while they are on the board. Nominations will remain active for three years and may be renewed.

Frequency: Annual

Award Amount: $2,500 and an engraved plaque

Previous Awardees

A list of service to the APA (including service after the award date) and a CV is provided for each awardee:


Robert Audi (University of Notre Dame)
List of service to the APA


Martha Nussbaum (University of Chicago Law School)
List of service to the APA


Michael Bratman (Stanford University)
List of service to the APA


John Perry (University of California, Riverside)
List of service to the APA


Judith Thomson (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
List of service to the APA


Karen Hanson (Indiana University-Bloomington)
List of service to the APA


Ernest Sosa (Rutgers University)
List of service to the APA


Anita Silvers (San Francisco State University)
List of service to the APA


J.B. Schneewind (Johns Hopkins University)
List of service to the APA


Ruth Barcan Marcus (Yale University)
List of service to the APA

Sign In

Forgot your password?

Become an APA member!

Join iGive and support the APA with your online shopping.

With Amazon Smile, Amazon will donate 0.5% of your order to the APA at no cost to you. Combine iGive and Amazon Smile and the APA will receive a donation totaling 1.3% of your order..

Amazon Smile logo
The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690
Email: [email protected]