Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join the APA
Member/Site Search

12/24/2016 » 1/2/2017
APA National Office Closed

1/4/2017 » 1/7/2017
2017 Eastern Division Meeting

Sanders Lecture
Share |


The Sanders Lecture is presented annually at a divisional meeting of the APA on a topic in philosophy of mind, metaphysics, or epistemology that engages the analytic tradition.


The Sanders Lecturer is selected by a committee appointed by the chair of the APA’s committee on lectures, publications, and research, in consultation with LPR committee members. Eligibility for this prize is limited to APA members.

Members of the selection committee will normally be members of the LPR although additional members may be selected based on their expertise in the fields of philosophy of mind, analytic metaphysics, and/or analytic epistemology. Membership on the Sanders Lecture selection committee will rotate so that no single person serves for longer than two years. The selection of the lecturer must be ratified by the entire LPR.


Frequency: Annual

Amount: $3,500 plus travel costs not to exceed $1,500.


The annual Sanders Lecture was established in 2013 to honor a distinguished scholar in philosophy of mind, metaphysics, or epistemology who engages the analytic tradition. It is generously funded by the Marc Sanders Foundation.

Previous Awardees


Louise Antony (University of Massachusetts Amherst) - Pacific


Ned Block (New York University) - Central 


William Lycan (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill) - Eastern


Terry Horgan (University of Arizona) - Pacific

Sign In

Forgot your password?

Become an APA member!

Join iGive and support the APA with your online shopping.

With Amazon Smile, Amazon will donate 0.5% of your order to the APA at no cost to you. Combine iGive and Amazon Smile and the APA will receive a donation totaling 1.3% of your order..

Amazon Smile logo
The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690
Email: [email protected]