Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
Frank Chapman Sharp Memorial Prize Fund

Frank Chapman Sharp Memorial Prize Fund Details » Donate Online

The Frank Chapman Sharp Memorial Prize was established in 1990 with funds donated by Eliot and Dorothy Sharp and several other members and friends of the Sharp family to honor the memory of Eliot's father. Frank Chapman Sharp was president of the Western Division of the APA in 1907-08 and was a member of the philosophy faculty at the University of Wisconsin from 1893 until his retirement in 1936. Dr. Sharp was born in 1866 and died in 1943.


This prize is awarded to the best unpublished essay or monograph on the philosophy of war and peace submitted for the competition.

Frequency: Every other year in odd years

Award Amount: $1,500

Additional details »

Eligibility and Criteria

Authors must be members of the APA. Undergraduate entrants must be philosophy majors (or something close); graduate students must be enrolled in, or on leave from, a graduate program in philosophy.

Manuscripts should be between 7,500 and 75,000 words (between 30 and 300 double-spaced typed pages), and not published or committed for publication at the time of the award.

Questions may be directed to

Submission Procedures

APA members are eligible to submit unpublished essays or monographs for the prize. Papers must be prepared for anonymous review. Any identifying references in the body and footnotes of the manuscript should be removed.

Only members may submit for this prize; please sign in to access the submission form.

Fill out the submission form.


The winning entry is selected by a committee of 3-6 members, appointed by the chair of the APA's committee on lectures, publications, and research (LPR), in consultation with LPR committee members.

The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690