Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
John Dewey Lecture and Israel Scheffler Prize Fund

John Dewey Lecture and Israel Scheffler Prize Fund Details » Donate Online

The Dewey Lectures

John Dewey was an American philosopher, psychologist, and educational reformer whose ideas have been influential in education and social reform. The John Dewey lectures, generously sponsored by the John Dewey Foundation, are presented annually at each APA divisional meeting. Each John Dewey lecture is given by a prominent and senior (typically retired) philosopher associated with that division who is invited to reflect, broadly and in an autobiographical spirit, on philosophy in America.

The Israel Scheffler Prize in Philosophy of Education

The Israel Scheffler Prize in Philosophy of Education, in memory of Israel Scheffler, will be awarded every third year for a book or a connected set of three or more papers, the most recent of which was published no more than five years previous, on a topic in philosophy of education, broadly construed.  Photo courtesy of Harvard University   


The winner of the prize will receive a $1,000 award. If the selected book or connected work is co-authored, the authors will share equally in the $1,000 award.

Frequency: Every third year

Inaugural award: 2017

Deadlines and additional Details »

The Scheffler prize will normally be presented at the APA’s annual prize reception at the APA Eastern Division meeting.


Only APA members are eligible for the prize.

Questions may be directed to


Books and connected works may be nominated for the prize by any APA member, including their authors.

Only members may submit nominations; please sign in to access the nomination form.

To submit a nomination, fill out the nomination form.


The selection committee of at least five will be formed by the APA for each prize cycle. The committee will consist of APA members, at least two of whom should be specialists in philosophy of education.

Currently serving members of the selection committee are not eligible for the Scheffler prize. If an APA committee, such as the committee on lectures, publications, and research, oversees the prize selection, currently serving members of that committee are also ineligible for the prize.


The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690