Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
Governance: Graduate Student Council
Group Pages

The Graduate Student Council (GSC) was formed by an act of the APA board of officers in 2016, and the GSC's inaugural membership began their work in 2017. The GSC serves as a liaison between the graduate students in the discipline of philosophy and the APA, reporting to the board on issues of interest, concern, and relevance to philosophy graduate students. The GSC chair is a voting member of the APA board of officers. The GSC advises the board on how to best serve and support graduate students, occasionally undertaking projects at the board's request. Additionally, the council regularly undertakes projects of its own that further its goals.

GSC Membership

The GSC is made up of twelve philosophy graduate students. Eight of the twelve members of the GSC are appointed by a selection committee. Four of the twelve members of the GSC are elected by student associate members of the APA.

Terms of Office

All members of the GSC serve two-year terms. Terms begin each year on July 1. GSC members’ terms are staggered: half of the GSC members (four appointed members and two elected members) serve terms beginning in even years and the other half serve terms beginning in odd years.

Term Limits

Any individual may serve a maximum of two terms on the GSC. Partial terms of one year or less will not count toward this two-term limit; partial terms of more than one year will count toward the two-term limit.


To be eligible to serve on the GSC, one must be an APA student associate member and a graduate student actively enrolled in a MA or PhD program in philosophy (or a cognate field eligible for APA membership) at the time of election or appointment. GSC members must maintain their APA memberships throughout their terms on the GSC. Once elected or appointed, GSC members may serve out their terms even if their student status changes.


When selecting GSC appointees and candidates to stand for election to the at-large GSC membership positions, the selection committee and the GSC will pay special attention to ensuring diversity and representation in the composition of the GSC, including gender and gender identity, race/ethnicity, LGBTQ+ status, disability status, geography, area of specialization, type of institution, and type of degree program (MA and PhD).

Efforts will be made to ensure that the members of the GSC adequately represent the diversity of the graduate student body in the profession with respect to, for instance, gender, race, and institutional profile.

Note: A maximum of two people per institution—a maximum of one appointed member and a maximum of one elected member—may serve on the GSC at any one time.


Any student associate member of the APA (including undergraduate and high school students) may nominate any graduate student actively enrolled in a MA or PhD program in philosophy (or a cognate field). Self-nomination is welcome and encouraged. Nominees who are not current APA members will be given the opportunity to become members in order to be considered for GSC membership. Nominees will be required to submit a brief CV, a letter from their institution certifying their student status, and a statement of interest.

Each year, nominations for appointed seats are open in September and October; nominations for elected seats are open in January and February.

For nomination questions, contact

GSC Operations

The GSC has three officers: chair, vice chair, and secretary. These officers are elected by the members of the GSC from among its members at the beginning of each fiscal year (July 1 to June 30).

The GSC chair is a voting member of the APA board of officers, and the GSC secretary is invited to participate as a non-voting guest in all meetings of the board, including the annual in-person meeting, with travel costs paid by the APA. (As with any invited guest, the board may require the GSC secretary to leave for portions of a board meeting for confidentiality reasons.)

The GSC normally meets monthly via web conference. The GSC secretary is responsible for taking minutes of all GSC meetings and providing them to the APA for publication.

The GSC chair is responsible for preparing an annual report to the board of officers on the GSC’s activities and goals. 

Liaisons to APA Committees

Several members of the GSC also represent the interests of graduate students on other APA committees. 

Meeting Minutes

The minutes of recent meetings can be found here.


You can reach the GSC by email at

Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter @apa_gsc.

Useful Links and Resources

We have gathered a list of resources that might prove helpful for graduate students. This list isn't intended to be exhaustive.

To recommend further resources or report problems with a link, send us an email.

Upcoming Events
Nominations open for APA leadership positions
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Nomination deadline for the 2021 Lebowitz Prize
Tuesday, December 1, 2020
Application deadline for the 2021–2022 Edinburgh Fellowship
Tuesday, December 15, 2020
Nomination deadline for the 2021 Book Prize
Friday, January 15, 2021
Deadline to apply to be an APA nominee for the Whiting Programs
Monday, January 25, 2021

Related Group News

Deadline for APA leadership nominations is October 31
Posted in APA Announcements, Friday, October 16, 2020

There are just two weeks left to nominate qualified candidates for APA leadership positions. The deadline for nominations is October 31. The terms for these positions ... more »

 View All News »

Chair (2021)
Nathanael Smith
Member (2021)
Philip Arthur
Member (2021)
Danielle Clevenger
Member (2021)
Aida Roige
Member (2022)
Thomas Ames
Member (2022)
Ricardo Friaz
Member (2022)
Jennifer O. Gammage
Member (2022)
Graham Lee
Member (2022)
Morinade Jayla Stevenson
Member (2022)
Nichi S. Yes
Secretary (2021)
Heather M. Stewart

The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690