Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
Division: Pacific
Group Pages

The Pacific Division is one of three divisions of the American Philosophical Association, along with the Central and Eastern Divisions. Each year, the division organizes a meeting on or near the Pacific coast. Recent and upcoming meeting locations include San Francisco, Seattle, San Diego, and Vancouver, BC.

APA members may submit papers or posters for refereeing and presentation at the annual meeting. Anyone may suggest ideas for invited sessions. The annual conference relies heavily on volunteers to chair sessions and comment on papers. Numerous affiliated groups also contribute to the program.

See Important Pacific Division Dates and Deadlines

Update on the 2020 Pacific Division Business Meeting: This year’s annual Pacific Division business meeting will be held via Zoom on Thursday, April 9, from 12 noon to 1 p.m. Pacific time (3 p.m. to 4 p.m. Eastern time). The business meeting is open to all; however, only current APA members affiliated with the Pacific Division may vote on matters taken up at the business meeting. To participate in the annual Pacific Division business meeting, please sign up using this form.

Upcoming Meeting Information

Volunteer to Chair or Comment

Information for affiliated groups

Diversity at the Pacific Division

Past Meetings

Divisional Governance

Pacific Division Minutes, Statements, Policies, and Procedures

Contact the Pacific Division

Pacific Division Contact Information

Pacific Division on Facebook

Pacific Division on Twitter

Recent Meetings







Related Group News

Deadline for APA Pacific Division meeting refund requests is April 7
Posted in APA Announcements, Thursday, April 2, 2020

The American Philosophical Association is offering meeting registration refunds (less a 15% processing fee) due to the cancelation of the 2020 Pacific Division meeting. The ... more »

 View All News »

Member-at-Large (2020)
Michael J. Cholbi
Member-at-Large (2021)
Alexander Sager
Member-at-Large (2022)
vrinda Dalmiya
Past President
Richard J. Arneson
Penelope Maddy
Janet D. Stemwedel
Secretary-Treasurer (2022)
Rebecca E. Copenhaver
Vice President
Evan Thompson

Upcoming Events
2020 Pacific Division Meeting
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
How to Lead in a Crisis: Philosophy Department Chairs and the COVID-19 Pandemic | APA Member Webinar
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Nomination deadline for the 2020 Public Philosophy Op-Ed Contest
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Nomination deadline for the 2020 Routledge, Taylor & Francis Prize
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Submission deadline for the 2020 Essay Prize in Latin American Thought
Friday, June 5, 2020

The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690