Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
Committee: Teaching of Philosophy

Committee Charge

The committee is charged with assessing trends and needs in the teaching of philosophy and making recommendations for action by the board. It sponsors sessions on the teaching of philosophy at divisional meetings, responds to requests from members and others regarding teaching, and undertakes programs for the improvement of teaching. At the direction of the board, it prepares statements for board approval regarding instruction in philosophy.

The chairs of the committee on philosophy in two-year colleges and the committee on pre-college instruction in philosophy and the president of the American Association of Philosophy Teachers (AAPT) serve in an ex officio capacity on this committee. One member of the graduate student council (GSC) serves as a liaison to this committee.

The committee also publishes the Newsletter on Teaching Philosophy, whose editor serves in an ex officio capacity on this committee.

Talking Teaching

“Talking Teaching” aims to provide a constructive space for discussion of matters of interest to practicing teachers of philosophy. “Talking Teaching” is a one-hour, informal conversation facilitated by a philosopher with research expertise in teaching. For more information, click here.

The Teaching Hub and other APA Sessions on Pedagogy

The 2020 Eastern, Central, and Pacific Division Meetings of the APA will host an AAPT-APA Teaching Hub, a two-day mini-conference on the teaching of philosophy. More information can be found here.

"The Teacher's Workshop" on The Blog of the APA

The "Teacher's Workshop" is a recurring feature on the new APA Blog in which APA members can submit questions about the teaching of philosophy. One or two experienced philosophy teachers are selected to answer each question, references are provided, and the discussion is opened up for a broader community response. Please e-mail questions for "The Teacher's Workshop" to Mark Jensen. (His e-mail address will appear when you click his name on the list to the right.)

CTP Facebook Pages

Please follow the APA Committee on Teaching, an open group Facebook page used to publicize events, calls, projects, articles, grants, and links related to the teaching of philosophy. The APA Teaching Workshop is a closed group page used to feed and extend discussion of our APA Blog feature "The Teaching Workshop." You must actively check the open page from time to time, but joining the closed group page will generate e-mail alerts.

Journals accepting papers on the teaching of philosophy 

Teaching Philosophy

AAPT Studies in Pedagogy

Journal of the American Philosophical Association

Analytic Teaching and Philosophical Praxis

Teaching Ethics

Questions: Philosophy for Young People

Calls related to the teaching of philosophy

AAPT biennial conference call for papers

Committee Reports

2017–2018 report

2016–2017 report

2015-2016 report

2014-2015 report 

2013-2014 report

2012-2013 report

2011-2012 report

2010-2011 report

2009-2010 report

2008-2009 report

2007-2008 report

Teaching Resources

Teaching Resources

Syllabi collected by the APA Committee on Inclusiveness in the Profession

Upcoming Events
APA Lecture by Jennifer Lackey
Friday, November 22, 2019
Nomination deadline for the 2020 Lebowitz Prize
Sunday, December 1, 2019
Application deadline for the 2020–2021 Edinburgh Fellowship
Sunday, December 15, 2019
Nomination deadline for the 2020 Book Prize
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Deadline to apply to be an APA nominee for the Whiting Programs
Saturday, January 25, 2020

Related Group News

Nominations are open for APA leadership positions
Posted in APA Announcements, Monday, September 16, 2019

The American Philosophical Association is now accepting nominations for APA leadership positions for terms beginning July 1, 2020. Visit the online nominations system. There will ... more »

 View All News »

Chair (2021)
David W. Concepcion
ex officio (2021)
Wendy C. Turgeon
ex officio (2022)
Richard Legum
ex officio (AAPT)
Jennifer W. Mulnix
GSC Liaison (2020)
Danielle Clevenger
Member (2020)
Ruth Boeker
Member (2020)
Robin L. Zebrowski
Member (2021)
Stephen Bloch-Schulman
Member (2021)
Kimberly Van Orman
Member (2022)
Brett Coppenger
Member (2022)
Jane Drexler
Newsletter Editor
Tziporah Kasachkoff
Newsletter Editor
Eugene Kelly


The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690