Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
News and Announcements: APA Announcements

Ernest Sosa and Stephen Stich have won the 2016 Lebowitz Prizes

Wednesday, May 4, 2016   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Linda Nuoffer
Share |

Renowned philosophy scholars Ernest Sosa and Stephen Stich, both Board of Governors Professors of Philosophy at Rutgers University, have won the 2016 Dr. Martin R. Lebowitz and Eve Lewellis Lebowitz Prizes for Philosophical Achievement and Contribution.

The prizes, a top honor recognizing outstanding achievement in the field, are awarded annually by the Phi Beta Kappa Society in conjunction with the APA. Each winner will receive an award of $26,500.

Lebowitz Prize winners must be two philosophers who hold contrasting views on a chosen topic of current interest in philosophy. They present their views and engage in rich dialogue at an annual Lebowitz Symposium and at a public lecture.

The Lebowitz Symposium by Sosa and Stich will focus on the topic of intuition in philosophical methodology, a subject about which both prizewinners have published extensively. The symposium will be held at the APA’s Pacific Division meeting April 12–15, 2017, in Seattle, with a public talk sponsored by the Phi Beta Kappa Society at a later date.

The Lebowitz Prizes were established in 2012 by a generous bequest from Eve Lewellis Lebowitz in honor of her late husband, Martin R. Lebowitz, a distinguished philosophical critic. Past symposium topics have included “Social Epistemology,” “Grounding in Metaphysics,” and “Expanding Justice, Including Disability.”

Deadline for nominations/applications for the 2017 Lebowitz Prize is November 1, 2016. To apply, contact Laura Hartnett at

The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690