Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
News and Announcements: APA Announcements

Call for Nominations: 2018 Lebowitz Prize

Monday, November 6, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Linda Nuoffer
Share |

We have extended the nomination deadline to December 1, 2017, for the 2018 Dr. Martin R. Lebowitz and Eve Lewellis Lebowitz Prize. For information on the prize and the nomination process, please visit the Dr. Martin R. Lebowitz and Eve Lewellis Lebowitz Prize page.

The Lebowitz Prize for philosophical achievement and contribution is awarded by the Phi Beta Kappa Society in conjunction with the American Philosophical Association. The associated Lebowitz symposium is presented annually at a divisional meeting of the American Philosophical Association. Both societies are grateful to Eve Lewellis Lebowitz for her generous bequest, honoring her late husband, Martin R. Lebowitz, and providing a significant, tangible recognition for excellence in philosophical thought. The dialogic character of the Lebowitz symposium, created by the gift, emphasizes the historic work of philosophy as a process of inquiry.

The topic of the lectures shall ordinarily be an important philosophical issue of current interest, and the lectures shall ordinarily be chosen to offer contrasting (not necessarily opposing) views on that topic.

Honoraria for the symposiasts, funded from the endowment created by the Lebowitzs' $1 million gift, are approximately $25,000 each.  The winners will be selected by a committee appointed jointly by the Phi Beta Kappa Society and the American Philosophical Association, and ratified by the Phi Beta Kappa Senate.

Previous winners of the Lebowitz Prize:

2017 winners: Nancy Cartwright and Elliott Sober
2016 winners: Ernest Sosa and Stephen Stich
2015 winners: Alvin Goldman and Jennifer Lackey
2014 winners: Jonathan Schaffer and Jessica Wilson
2013 winners: Anita Silvers and Eva F. Kittay

Please contact Jen Horneman of the Phi Beta Kappa Society at if you have any questions regarding the prize or the nomination process. We look forward to receiving your nominations!

The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690