Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
News and Announcements: Press Releases

Dayton’s DesAutels awarded the Quinn Prize in recognition of service

Friday, December 8, 2017   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Erin Shepherd
Share |


Dayton's DesAutels awarded the Quinn Prize in recognition of service

Peggy DesAutelsNEWARK, Del. — Dec. 8, 2017 — The American Philosophical Association is pleased to announce that the board of officers has selected Professor Peggy DesAutels (University of Dayton) as the recipient of the 2017 Philip L. Quinn Prize, the APA’s highest honor for service to the profession.

The prize memorializes Philip L. Quinn, a former president of the APA Central Division and former chair of the APA board of officers. This prize, which includes a prize check of $2,500 and an engraved plaque, is given annually by the APA board of officers in recognition of service to philosophy and philosophers, broadly construed.

Cheshire Calhoun, chair of the APA board of officers, said, “For nearly 20 years, Professor DesAutels has taken on leadership roles in promoting the recruitment and advancement of women and in addressing sexual harassment and institutional climate issues affecting women in both philosophy and the STEM disciplines. It is hard to imagine anyone who has had a more extensive and significant impact on the profession’s efforts to improve the status of women—from chairing the Committee on the Status of Women (CSW), to establishing and training members of the APA CSW Site Visit program, to helping plan the Diversity and Philosophy Conference, to serving on the APA Diversity and Inclusion Taskforce. I am extremely pleased that the Board of Officers is able to honor and thank Professor DesAutels for her tireless service to changing the face and climate of philosophy.”

Peggy DesAutels received her Ph.D. in philosophy from Washington University of St. Louis in 1995. She specializes in ethical theory and moral psychology. She began teaching at the University of Dayton in 2001. Prior to coming to the University of Dayton, she served as assistant director to the Ethics Center and assistant professor of philosophy at the University of South Florida.

About the APA

Founded in 1900, the American Philosophical Association promotes the discipline and profession of philosophy, both within the academy and in the public arena. The APA supports the professional development of philosophers at all levels and works to foster greater understanding and appreciation of the value of philosophical inquiry.


Amy Ferrer
Executive Director


This press release is also available as a Microsoft Word document. The photo of Peggy DesAutels is available for use.

The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690