Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
News and Announcements: APA Announcements

Talking Teaching

Friday, March 1, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Erin Shepherd
Share |

The American Philosophical Association’s Committee on Teaching is proud to introduce “Talking Teaching.”

“Talking Teaching” aims to provide a constructive space for discussion of matters of interest to practicing teachers of philosophy. “Talking Teaching” is a one-hour, informal conversation facilitated by a philosopher with research expertise in teaching. The first few conversations will take place at 3 pm Eastern on Fridays. As “Talking Teaching” grows, we anticipate expanding the times and days of the week.

“Increasing In-class Engagement”
March 8, 3 pm Eastern
Dave Concepcion, Ball State University, dwconcepcion@bsu.edu

“Instilling a Growth Mindset in Students to Help with Tenacity and Retention”
March 15, 3 pm Eastern
Kimberly Van Orman, University at Albany, kvanorman@albany.edu

“Building an Online Community”
March 22, 3 pm Eastern
Wendy Turgeon, St Joseph's College (NY), turgeon@optonline.net

“Increasing Transparency in the Classroom and Assignments”
March 29, 3 pm Eastern
Alida Liberman, Southern Methodist University, aliberman@smu.edu

“Teaching General Education Students”
April 5, 3 pm Eastern
Andrew Mills, Otterbein University, andrewpmills@gmail.com

“Teaching Philosophic Question-Asking”
April 12, 3 pm Eastern
Stephen Bloch-Schulman, Elon University, sschulman@elon.edu

“Giving Effective and Supportive Feedback”
April 19, 3 pm Eastern
Rebecca Scott, Harper College, rscott1@harpercollege.edu

“Universal Design for Learning; Increasing Accessibility”
April 26, 3 pm Eastern
Christina Hendricks, University of British Columbia, christina.hendricks@ubc.ca

“Teaching Philosophy Graduate Students about Effective Teaching”
May 3, 3 pm Eastern
Melissa Jacquart, University of Cincinnati, melissajacquart@gmail.com

“Teaching Transferable Skills”
May 10, 3 pm Eastern
Russell Marcus, Hamilton College, rmarcus1@hamilton.edu

To participate, all you need to do is email the facilitator of the session, expressing interest. You will be sent a link to join a meeting using Zoom software. Discussants will be selected on a first-come, first-served basis, except that APA members and first time “Talking Teaching” participants will be given priority. Please indicate in your email whether you are an APA member and whether you have participated in a previous “Talking Teaching” event. Please contact David W. Concepción with any questions.

We look forward to enriching dialogues.


The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690
Email: info@apaonline.org