Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
News and Announcements: Press Releases

APA Announces Winners of the 2019 Public Philosophy Op-Ed Contest

Tuesday, August 13, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Erin Shepherd
Share |


APA Announces Winners of the 2019 Public Philosophy Op-Ed Contest

NEWARK, Del. — Aug. 13, 2019 — The American Philosophical Association is pleased to announce the winners of the 2019 Public Philosophy Op-Ed Contest:

  • Brendan de Kenessey, “People are dying because we misunderstand how those with addiction think,”
  • Benjamin Mitchell-Yellin, “The Mirror Test and the Problem of Understanding Other Minds,” Psychology Today
  • Amia Srinivasan, “Does anyone have the right to sex?,” London Review of Books
  • Bryan Van Norden, “The Ignorant Do Not Have a Right to an Audience,” The Stone (The New York Times)
  • Karina Vold, “Are ‘you’ just inside your skin or is your smartphone part of you?,” Aeon Magazine

The APA committee on public philosophy sponsors this annual contest, which includes a $100 monetary award per essay, for the best opinion-editorials published by philosophers. The goal is to honor standout pieces that successfully blend philosophical argumentation with an op-ed writing style.

de Kenessey is assistant professor of philosophy at the University of Toronto. He works in moral philosophy and his research pursues the idea that we can better understand much of morality by taking a closer look at how we decide together what to do. de Kenessey also has research interests in metaethics and the philosophy of psychology.

Mitchell-Yellin is assistant professor of philosophy at Sam Houston State University. Before that, he was a postdoctoral fellow in the department of philosophy at the University of California, Riverside, where he also received his PhD in philosophy. Mitchell-Yellin’s main areas of research are in ethics, the philosophy of action, racism, and death and dying.

Srinivasan is associate professor of philosophy at St. John’s College, Oxford. She completed her DPhil in philosophy at Oxford. She works on topics in political philosophy, epistemology, the history and philosophy of feminism, and metaphilosophy. Srinivasan is an associate editor of the philosophy journal MIND.

Van Norden is professor of philosophy on the James Monroe Taylor Chair at Vassar College. He has a PhD in philosophy from Stanford University. His primary area of specialization is Chinese philosophy, but he also has broad interests in Chinese literature and Western philosophy, including ethics. Van Norden is author, editor, or translator of nine books on Chinese and comparative philosophy.

Vold is a postdoctoral research associate at the Leverhulme Centre for the Future of Intelligence and a research fellow at the faculty of philosophy, both at the University of Cambridge. She received her PhD in philosophy from McGill University. Vold specializes in philosophy of mind and cognition, with further research interests in artificial intelligence (AI), AI ethics, moral psychology, and neuroethics. 

About the APA

Founded in 1900, the American Philosophical Association promotes the discipline and profession of philosophy, both within the academy and in the public arena. The APA supports the professional development of philosophers at all levels and works to foster greater understanding and appreciation of the value of philosophical inquiry.


Amy Ferrer
APA Executive Director


This release is also available as a Microsoft Word document.

The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690