Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
News and Announcements: APA Announcements

Auburn’s Gorodeisky and Marcus win the 2020 Danto/ASA Prize

Tuesday, August 20, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Linda Nuoffer
Share |

The APA and the American Society for Aesthetics are pleased to announce that Professors Keren Gorodeisky and Eric Marcus (Auburn University) have been selected as the winners of the second Arthur Danto/American Society for Aesthetics Prize for their paper “Aesthetic Rationality.”

The selection committee also awarded Honorable Mention for A.W. Eaton’s (University of Illinois at Chicago) article, “‘A Lady on the Street but a Freak in the Bed’: On the Distinction Between Erotic Art and Pornography.”

The Danto/ASA Prize, in the amount of $1,000, is awarded to a member of the APA and the ASA for the best paper in the field of aesthetics, broadly understood. In addition, a symposium in honor of the recipient of the prize is held at the APA Eastern Division meeting, normally the next such meeting following the selection of the prizewinner. This prize is in honor of the late Arthur Danto, a past president of the APA Eastern Division.

Gorodeisky and Marcus will receive their award at the 2020 Eastern Division meeting in Philadelphia, PA.

For more information on this prize, visit the Arthur Danto/American Society for Aesthetics Prize page.

The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690