Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
News and Announcements: APA Announcements

Dominic McIver Lopes elected new APA board chair

Monday, December 9, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Erin Shepherd
Share |

Dominic McIver LopesToday I am pleased to announce that at its meeting last month, the APA board of officers elected Dr. Dominic McIver Lopes the association’s next board chair. Lopes, who will succeed Dr. Cheshire Calhoun of Arizona State University, will begin his three-year term on July 1, 2020.

Dominic McIver Lopes is distinguished university scholar and professor in the Department of Philosophy at the University of British Columbia. He was secretary-treasurer of the Pacific Division in 2008–2016; he has served on and chaired the Pacific Division program committee; and he has chaired the communications and publications task force and the ad hoc subcommittee on National Office IT operations. Lopes has also served on the Pacific Division executive committee; the committee on lectures, publications, and research; the governing committee of the Journal of the American Philosophical Association; and the 2011 executive director search committee. In 2018, he was awarded the APA’s Quinn Prize. Lopes is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, president of the Canadian Philosophical Association, past president of the American Society for Aesthetics, and a member of the editorial boards of the Journal of the American Philosophical Association, the Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism, Estetika, Cognitive Semiotics, and Imaginations.

Please join me in welcoming Dr. Dominic McIver Lopes as the incoming chair of the APA board of officers.

All the best,

Amy E. Ferrer
Executive Director

The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690