Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
News and Announcements: Press Releases

APA announces fall 2019 prize winners

Monday, December 16, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Erin Shepherd
Share |


APA announces fall 2019 prize winners

NEWARK, Del. — Dec. 16, 2019 — The American Philosophical Association is pleased to announce the 31 winners of the following 19 prizes for the second half of 2019. APA prizes recognize many areas of philosophy research by philosophers at various career stages, as well as the teaching of philosophy and public philosophy. For more details about the winners and prizes, please visit this web page.

  • APA/PDC Prize for Excellence and Innovation in Philosophy Programs: Corrupt the Youth Program
  • Barwise Prize: Margaret Boden (University of Sussex)
  • Book Prize: Kate Manne (Cornell University), Down Girl: The Logic of Misogyny
  • Danto/ASA Prize: Keren Gorodeisky and Eric Marcus (Auburn University), “Aesthetic Rationality”
  • de Gruyter Kant Lecture: Patricia Kitcher (Columbia University), “Kant’s Ordinary Moral Agent”
  • Dewey Lectures:
  • Eastern John Dewey Lecture: Gisela Striker (Harvard University)
  • Central John Dewey Lecture: Richard Kraut (Northwestern University)
  • Pacific John Dewey Lecture: Janet Levin (University of Southern California)
  • Essay Prize in Latin American Thought: Noell Birondo (Wichita State University), “The Virtues of Mestizaje: Lessons from Las Casas on Aztec Human Sacrifice”
  • Joseph B. Gittler Award: Robert Sugden (University of East Anglia), The Community of Advantage: A Behavioural Economist’s Defence of the Market
  • Gregory Kavka/UC Irvine Prize in Political Philosophy: Massimo Renzo (King’s College London), “Political Authority and Unjust Wars”
  • Dr. Martin R. Lebowitz and Eve Lewellis Lebowitz Prize: Michael Bratman (Stanford University) and Margaret Gilbert (University of California, Irvine), “What Is It to Act Together?”
  • Public Philosophy Op-Ed Contest:
  • Brendan de Kenessey (University of Toronto), “People Are Dying because We Misunderstand How Those with Addiction Think”
  • Benjamin Mitchell-Yellin (Sam Houston State University), “The Mirror Test and the Problem of Understanding Other Minds”
  • Amia Srinivasan (St. John’s College, Oxford), “Does Anyone Have the Right to Sex?”
  • Bryan Van Norden (Vassar College), “The Ignorant Do Not Have a Right to an Audience”
  • Karina Vold (University of Cambridge), “Are ‘You’ Just Inside Your Skin or Is Your Smartphone Part of You?”
  • Philip L. Quinn Prize: Geoffrey Sayre-McCord (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
  • Patrick Romanell Lecture: Daniel Dennett (Tufts University), “Herding Cats and Free Will Inflation”
  • Routledge, Taylor & Francis Prize:
  • William D’Alessandro (University of Illinois at Chicago), “Viewing-as Explanations and Ontic Dependence”
  • Tyke Nunez (University of South Carolina), “Logical Mistakes, Logical Aliens, and the Laws of Kant’s Pure General Logic”
  • Sanders Book Prize: Douglas Edwards (Utica College), The Metaphysics of Truth
  • Sanders Graduate Student Awards:
  • Maria Altepeter (Washington University in St. Louis), “The Focus of Virtue: Broadening Attention in Empirically Informed Accounts of Virtue Cultivation”
  • Jesse D. Lopes (Boston University), “Cognitive Science and Phenomenology: Husserl’s Computational Theory of Mind”
  • Alexandra T. Romanyshyn (Saint Louis University), “Agency and the Self: Insights from Schizophrenia Research”
  • Sanders Lecture: David Chalmers (New York University), “Intentionality Australian-Style”
  • Frank Chapman Sharp Prize: Blake Hereth (University of Washington), “Animal Rights Pacifism”
  • Prize for Excellence in Philosophy Teaching: Sandra Dwyer (Georgia State University), Claire Katz (Texas A&M University)

About the APA

Founded in 1900, the American Philosophical Association promotes the discipline and profession of philosophy, both within the academy and in the public arena. The APA supports the professional development of philosophers at all levels and works to foster greater understanding and appreciation of the value of philosophical inquiry.


Amy Ferrer
APA Executive Director


This release is also available as a Microsoft Word document.

The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690