Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
News and Announcements: APA Announcements

APA Eastern Division meeting: Department Chairs Network, exhibits, and prize reception

Friday, January 3, 2020   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Erin Shepherd
Share |

The 2020 Eastern Division meeting is less than a week away. We hope you’ll join us in Philadelphia, PA, January 8–11!

Online registration is closed, but you can still register on site at the meeting. The registration desk will open at 9:30 a.m. on Wednesday, January 8. The on-site registration rates are $175 for APA members, $290 for non-members, and $90 for student members.

Department Chairs Network

The APA will host a special session for the Department Chairs Network (DCN), “Building Support for Philosophy on Campus,” on Friday, January 10, at 9:00 a.m. Panelists include John Corvino (Wayne State University), David Levy (SUNY Geneseo), and Sally Scholz (Villanova University). APA Executive Director Amy Ferrer will chair the session.

The DCN exists to discover and discuss issues of particular interest to philosophy department chairs, but DCN sessions are open to all. We encourage you to attend the session and to join the DCN.

Exhibits and Prize Reception

The 2020 Eastern Division meeting features 24 exhibitors and over 50 tables. We encourage you to visit our exhibits and spend some time browsing new and popular philosophy titles that will be on display during the meeting. The exhibits will be located on the second floor of the meeting hotel in Liberty Ballroom A/B, near APA registration. The following exhibitors will be on site:

  • Brill
  • Cambridge University Press
  • Cato Institute
  • Grand Canyon University
  • Hackett Publishing Company
  • Ingram Academic Services
  • Institute for Humane Studies
  • Law School Admission Council
  • Lexington Books
  • McFarland
  • Oxford University Press
  • Palgrave Macmillan
  • Philosopher's Information Center
  • Philosophy Documentation Center
  • Philosophy Now
  • Princeton University Press
  • Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group
  • Rowman and Littlefield
  • Springer
  • SUNY Press
  • Temple University Press
  • The Scholar's Choice
  • Walter De Gruyter GmbH
  • Wiley

All meeting registrants are invited to attend the annual APA prize reception in the exhibit area at 5:30 p.m. on Thursday, January 9. The exhibits will remain open during the prize reception, and wine and cheese will be served. The exhibit hours during the meeting are as follows:

January 9: 10:00 a.m.–6:30 p.m.
January 10: 9:00 a.m –5:00 p.m.
January 11: 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

We hope to see you in Philadelphia next week!

The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690