Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
News and Announcements: APA Announcements

APA Committee and GSC Appointments Announced

Tuesday, February 18, 2020   (1 Comments)
Posted by: Erin Shepherd
Share |

The APA board of officers is pleased to announce the committee and graduate student council (GSC) appointments for terms starting July 1, 2020. Congratulations to the appointees and thanks to all who were willing to serve!

Academic Career Opportunities and Placement

Paul Bohan-Broderick (Clark University)
Eileen Nutting (University of Kansas)
Ben Yost (Providence College)

Asian and Asian-American Philosophers and Philosophies

Jonardon Ganeri (University of Toronto)
Dien Ho (MCPHS University)

Defense of the Professional Rights of Philosophers

Christina Bellon (CSU Sacramento)
Alison Jaggar (University of Colorado at Boulder)


Lucia Munguia (William Paterson University)
Sebastian Purcell (State University of New York at Cortland)
Janet Stemwedel (San Jose State University)

Inclusiveness in the Profession

Kevin Timpe (Calvin College) — Disability Representative
Maureen Eckert (UMass Dartmouth)

International Cooperation

Étienne Brown (San Jose State University)
Michael Cholbi (Cal Poly Pomona)
Krishna Pathak (Hindu College, University of Delhi)

Lectures, Publications, and Research

Yuval Avnur (Scripps College)
Felipe de Brigard (Duke University)
Steven James (West Chester University of Pennsylvania)
Gila Sher (University of California, San Diego)
Karsten Stueber (College of the Holy Cross)

LGBTQ People in the Profession

Yannik Thiem (Columbia University) — Associate Chair
Christina Friedlaender (University of Memphis)
Blake Hereth (University of Washington)

Native American and Indigenous Philosophers

James Maffie (University of Maryland)
Lori Underwood (Christopher Newport University)

Non-Academic Careers

Mark Barber (Xinova) — Associate Chair
Daniel DeLoma (Puppet Showplace)*
Sherri Conklin (University of California, Santa Barbara)
Jacob Heim (University of California, Irvine)

Philosophy in Two-Year Colleges

Bill Hartmann (Saint Louis Community College Forest Park)
Courtland Lewis (Owensboro Community and Technical College)
Heather Wilburn (Tulsa Community College)

Pre-College Instruction in Philosophy

Stephen Miller (Oakwood Friends School) — Associate Chair
Joshua Duclos (St Paul’s School)
Joseph Murray (Dwight-Englewood School)

Public Philosophy

Kal Alston (Syracuse University)
Jeanette Joy Harris (Experimental Action)
Nathan Nobis (Morehouse College)

Status and Future of the Profession

Lynne Tirrell (University of Connecticut) — Associate Chair
Alex Guerrero (Rutgers University)
Christian Matheis (Guilford College)

Status of Black Philosophers

Benjamin Arah (Bowie State University)
Yual Chiek (St. John’s University)

Status of Women

Clair Morrissey (Occidental College)
Carlotta Pavese (Cornell University)
Christina Van Dyke (Calvin College)*

Teaching of Philosophy

Fritz McDonald (Oakland University) — Associate Chair
Cecilea Mun (Bowling Green State University Firelands)*
Melissa Jacquart (University of Cincinnati)
W. John Koolage (Eastern Michigan University)

Graduate Student Council

Thomas Ames (University of Missouri–St. Louis)
Philip Arthur (Arizona State University)*
Jennifer Gammage (DePaul University)
Graham Lee (The University of Houston)
Nichi Yes (University of California, Riverside)

Note: Appointments with an asterisk (*) fill unexpected vacancies on the relevant committees; these appointments begin immediately, rather than on July 1.


Krishna M. Pathak says...
Posted Thursday, March 5, 2020
A very big thanks to the APA Board for giving me the opportunity to serve as member of the Committee on International Cooperation (Jul 2020 - Jun 2023). Looking forward to working together for strengthening the future of philosophy and philosophers across the globe!

The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690