Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
News and Announcements: Press Releases

2020 Lebowitz Prize Awarded to Philosophers Callard and Paul

Monday, April 13, 2020   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Erin Shepherd
Share |


2020 Lebowitz Prize Awarded to Philosophers Callard and Paul

NEWARK, Del. — April 13, 2020 — The American Philosophical Association (APA) and the Phi Beta Kappa Society (PBK) are pleased to announce that Dr. Agnes Callard, Associate Professor of Philosophy at the University of Chicago, and Dr. Laurie Paul, Professor of Philosophy and Cognitive Science at Yale University, have won the 2020 Dr. Martin R. Lebowitz and Eve Lewellis Lebowitz Prize for Philosophical Achievement and Contribution. Awarded annually by ΦBK in conjunction with the APA, this prize recognizes outstanding achievement in the field of philosophy. Each winner will be awarded an honorarium.

The Lebowitz Prize was established in 2012 by a generous bequest from Eve Lewellis Lebowitz in honor of her late husband, Martin R. Lebowitz, a distinguished philosophical critic. Lebowitz Prize winners must be two philosophers who hold contrasting views on a chosen topic of current interest in philosophy. They present their views and engage in a dialogue at an annual Lebowitz symposium, held during an APA divisional meeting.

Agnes Callard, Ph.D., received her undergraduate degree from the University of Chicago and her M.A. in Classics and Ph.D. in Philosophy from the University of California, Berkeley. Teaching at the University of Chicago since 2008, Callard's primary areas of specialization are Ancient Philosophy and Ethics. She is the author of Aspiration: The Agency of Becoming (Oxford University Press, 2018) and numerous academic articles and publications. Dr. Callard is the recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship and a Loeb Fellowship, among other awards, and writes a monthly philosophy column for The Point magazine.

Laurie Paul, Ph.D., received her undergraduate degree from Antioch College, her MA in Philosophy from Antioch University, and her MA and Ph.D. in Philosophy from Princeton University. As Professor of Philosophy and Cognitive Science at Yale University, her areas of specialization include metaphysics, philosophy of mind, philosophy of science, cognitive science, and formal epistemology. She is the author of Transformative Experience (Oxford University Press, 2014) and Causation: A User's Guide (Oxford University Press, 2013), which was awarded the American Philosophical Association Sanders Book Prize. Dr. Paul is the recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship, among many honors and grants, and has given over a dozen named lectures.

Professors Callard and Paul's topic for the 2020 Lebowitz Prize is "Personal Transformation and Practical Reason." The two highly regarded philosophers have given a great deal of thought to what is involved in long-term decision making, and their proposed dialogue focuses on different conceptions of practical rationality that are from differing philosophical traditions.

The winners will present their work in January 2021 at the APA Eastern Division meeting in New York, NY.

Nominations/applications for the 2021 Lebowitz Prize will open in early fall 2020; the deadline is December 1, 2020. Please click here for more information.

About the APA

Founded in 1900, the American Philosophical Association promotes the discipline and profession of philosophy, both within the academy and in the public arena. The APA supports the professional development of philosophers at all levels and works to foster greater understanding and appreciation of the value of philosophical inquiry.

About the ΦBK

Founded on Dec. 5, 1776, The Phi Beta Kappa Society is the nation’s most prestigious academic honor society. It has chapters at 286 colleges and universities in the United States, almost 50 alumni associations, and more than half a million members worldwide. Noteworthy members include 17 U.S. Presidents, 39 U.S. Supreme Court Justices and more than 130 Nobel Laureates. The mission of The Phi Beta Kappa Society is to champion education in the liberal arts and sciences, foster freedom of thought, and recognize academic excellence. For more information, visit


Amy Ferrer
APA Executive Director

Frederick Lawrence
ΦBK Secretary/CEO


This release is also available as a Microsoft Word document.

The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690