Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
News and Announcements: APA Announcements

Janet Levin to deliver the 2020 Pacific Division Dewey Lecture on June 25

Tuesday, June 16, 2020   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Erin Shepherd
Share |

The American Philosophical Association is pleased to announce that Janet Levin (USC Dornsife) will present the 2020 Pacific Division Dewey Lecture next week via live stream, following an introduction by Robin Jeshion (USC Dornsife). Professor Levin’s lecture, “The Road Taken,” was originally scheduled for the Pacific Division meeting in April 2020, which was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Janet Levin received her BA from the University of Chicago (1972) and her PhD from MIT (1980). She is Professor of Philosophy at the University of Southern California, and has done a lot of work defending physicalism in the philosophy of mind and the legitimacy of thought experiments in philosophical inquiry—and arguing that there need be no conflict between these views. She is also interested in what to say about norms of assertion in the age of Twitter.

The live stream will take place on Thursday, June 25, at 11:00 a.m. Pacific time / 2:00 p.m. Eastern time. To participate, register on the APA website. Registration will be available until 7 a.m. Pacific time / 10 a.m. Eastern time on the day of the lecture, and access information will be provided to registrants at least one hour prior to the start of the webinar. Registration is limited to current APA members.

Space is limited, so register now! If you’re unable to attend the live lecture, a recording will be made available to APA members afterward.


The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690
Email: info@apaonline.org