Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
News and Announcements: APA Announcements

APA announces new committee on disability

Thursday, June 18, 2020   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Erin Shepherd
Share |

At its May 2020 meeting, the APA board of officers approved a proposal by the Disability Task Force, chaired by Adam Cureton, to create a permanent committee on disability. The new APA Committee on the Status of Disabled People in the Profession will begin its work on July 1, 2020.

The Disability Task Force was established in May 2018 in response to a growing recognition of the challenges faced by disabled people in philosophy, as well as recommendations by the 2014 APA Task Force on Inclusion and Diversity to investigate the need for a committee on disability and to improve accessibility of APA meetings, web pages, and other functions for disabled people. The proposal to establish this new committee was based in part on a survey the Disability Task Force administered to study the obstacles people with disabilities face in philosophy; that survey will also inform the new committee’s work.

The primary role of the committee will be advocacy rather than scholarship: it will focus on making the profession of philosophy fully accessible to disabled people and those who care for them. The initial members of the committee are the following:

Adam Cureton, chair, three-year term (2020–2023)
Eva Feder Kittay, one-year term (2020–2021)
Samantha Godwin, one-year term (2020–2021)
Joe Stramondo, two-year term (2020–2022)
Maeve O’Donovan, two-year term (2020–2022)
Teresa Blankmeyer Burke, three-year term (2020–2023)
Kevin Timpe, three-year term (2020–2023)
President of the Society for Philosophy and Disability, ex officio

The APA board of officers is grateful to the task force for its work, and to the inaugural members of this new committee for their willingness to serve the APA and the discipline of philosophy in this way.

The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690