Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
News and Announcements: APA Announcements

Deadline for two prestigious APA prizes is November 1

Tuesday, October 8, 2013   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Linda Nuoffer
Share |

The American Philosophical Association is fortunate to sponsor and co-sponsor a number of prizes, awards, and fellowships. The deadlines for two of these prestigious awards—the Rockefeller Prize and the Lebowitz Prizes for Philosophical Achievement—are less than a month away.

The Rockefeller Prize, funded by a grant from the Rockefeller Foundation, is awarded for the best unpublished article-length work in philosophy by a non-academically affiliated philosopher. The winner's work will be published in the Journal of Value Inquiry, by mutual agreement of the author and the editors of the journal.

The Dr. Martin R. Lebowitz and Eve Lewellis Lebowitz Prizes are awarded to a pair of scholars offering contrasting views on an issue of current philosophical interest. The prizes are given by the Phi Beta Kappa Society in conjunction with the American Philosophical Association, and the associated Lebowitz symposium is presented annually at an APA divisional meeting. Both societies are grateful to Eve Lewellis Lebowitz for her generous bequest, honoring her late husband, Martin R. Lebowitz, and providing a significant, tangible recognition for excellence in philosophical thought.

Both prizes have a deadline of November 1, 2013. We invite you to learn more about these awards and many other APA prizes and fellowships on the APA website.

We would also like to remind you that to be eligible for most of the APA’s prizes, one must be a member of the APA. If you have not already renewed your membership, please take a moment to do so now.

The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690