Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
News and Announcements: APA Announcements

Goldman and Lackey win 2015 Lebowitz Prize

Thursday, April 23, 2015   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Erin Shepherd
Share |

Alvin Goldman (Rutgers University) and Jennifer Lackey (Northwestern University) are the recipients of the 2015 Martin R. Lebowitz and Eve Lewellis Lebowitz Prizes for Philosophical Achievement and Contribution for their topic, “Social Epistemology.”

Awarded by the Phi Beta Kappa Society in conjunction with the American Philosophical Association, the Lebowitz Prizes are made possible by a generous bequest from Eve Lewellis Lebowitz, honoring her late husband, Martin R. Lebowitz.

The Lebowitz Prizes offer significant, tangible recognition for excellence in philosophical thought. Goldman and Lackey will each receive an honorarium of $29,000.

As part of the award, Goldman and Lackey will present their contrasting viewpoints on social epistemology at the next APA Eastern Division meeting in Washington, D.C., January 6-9, 2016. A second symposium will be hosted by the Phi Beta Kappa Society.

Learn more about this prize by visiting the Dr. Martin R. Lebowitz and Eve Lewellis Lebowitz Prizes page.

The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690