Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
News and Announcements: APA Announcements

Call for nominations: 2016 Lebowitz Prizes

Tuesday, October 27, 2015   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Erin Shepherd
Share |

Nominations are due on November 1, 2015, for the 2016 Lebowitz Prizes. The 2015 prize included a $29,500 honorarium for each of the winners. For information on the prize and the nomination process, please visit the Phi Beta Kappa Society website.


The Martin R. Lebowitz and Eve Lewellis Lebowitz Prizes for Philosophical Achievement and Contribution are awarded by the Phi Beta Kappa Society in conjunction with the American Philosophical Association. The associated Lebowitz Symposium is to be presented annually at an APA divisional meeting. Both societies are grateful to Eve Lewellis Lebowitz for her generous bequest, honoring her late husband, Martin R. Lebowitz, and providing a significant, tangible recognition for excellence in philosophical thought. The dialogic character of the Lebowitz Symposium, created by the gift, emphasizes the historic work of philosophy as a process of inquiry.


The symposium program shall ordinarily consist of a pair of annual lectures to be delivered sequentially at a divisional meeting selected by the honorees, or, lacking their agreement, by the Phi Beta Kappa Society. The topic of the lectures shall ordinarily be an important philosophical issue of current interest, and the lectures shall ordinarily be chosen to offer contrasting (not necessarily opposing) views on that topic.


Honoraria for the symposiasts are funded from the endowment created by the Lebowitzs' $1 million gift. The winners will be selected by a committee appointed jointly by the Phi Beta Kappa Society and the APA, and ratified by the Phi Beta Kappa Senate.


Previous winners of the Lebowitz Prizes include the following:


2015 winners: Alvin Goldman and Jennifer Lackey

2014 winners: Jonathan Schaffer and Jessica Wilson

2013 winners: Anita Silvers and Eva F. Kittay


Please contact Laura Hartnett ( if you have any questions regarding the prize or the nomination process. We look forward to receiving your nominations!

The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690