Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
News and Announcements: Press Releases

Brian Epstein Wins the 2016 Joseph B. Gittler Award

Wednesday, July 6, 2016   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Mike Morris
Share |


Brian Epstein Wins the 2016
Joseph B. Gittler Award


NEWARK, Del. — Jul. 6, 2016 — The American Philosophical Association is pleased to announce that Professor Brian Epstein (Tufts University) has been awarded the 2016 Joseph B. Gittler Award for his book, The Ant Trap: Rebuilding the Foundations of the Social Sciences.

The annual Joseph B. Gittler Award, which includes a $4,000 monetary prize, is given for an outstanding scholarly contribution in the field of the philosophy of one or more of the social sciences.

Epstein is an associate professor of philosophy at Tufts University. His research interests include philosophy of social science, metaphysics, and philosophy of language, focusing in particular on issues in the theory of reference and the ontology of social kinds. He also has interests in conceptual schemes, the philosophy of music, and the philosophy of economics. Epstein received his Ph.D. in philosophy from Stanford University, his master’s in philosophy from Oxford University, and graduated summa cum laude with an AB in philosophy from Princeton University.

The APA selection committee stated, "Brian Epstein’s book, The Ant Trap, is an exceptionally clear and well-crafted study of foundational issues in the social sciences.  Epstein probes the deepest conceptual issues framing empirical work on social reality, drawing helpful distinctions between issues that can easily be run together, and offering creative alternatives to conventional assumptions about individuals and groups. A terrific contribution to contemporary scholarship on social theory."

About the APA

Founded in 1900, the American Philosophical Association promotes the discipline and profession of philosophy, both within the academy and in the public arena. The APA supports the professional development of philosophers at all levels and works to foster greater understanding and appreciation of the value of philosophical inquiry.


Amy Ferrer
Executive Director


This release is also available as a Word document.

The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690