Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
News and Announcements: APA Announcements

Results of the Recent APA Elections

Thursday, June 6, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Erin Shepherd
Share |

Over the last few months, members of the APA elected new divisional officers, a new at-large member of the APA board of officers, three new members of the Graduate Student Council (GSC), and considered four amendments to the association bylaws. We are pleased to announce the results of those votes.

All newly elected members will begin their terms on July 1 and (with the exception of nominating committee members, whose terms vary by division, and GSC members, whose terms are listed below) will serve three-year terms ending June 30, 2022. Divisional vice presidents serve a one-year term as vice president, followed by a one-year term as president, and finally a one-year term as past president.

Congratulations to the winners, and many thanks to all the candidates who stood for election.

Board of Officers


Sergio Tenenbaum (University of Toronto)

Central Division

Vice President

Russ Shafer-Landau (University of Wisconsin–Madison)

Executive Committee Member-at-Large

Meghan Sullivan (University of Notre Dame)

Nominating Committee Members

A.W. Eaton (University of Illinois at Chicago)
Anton Ford (University of Chicago)
Jessica Gordon-Roth (University of Minnesota, Twin Cities)
Sarah Paul (University of Wisconsin–Madison)

Eastern Division

Vice President

Tommie Shelby (Harvard University)

Divisional Representative to the Board of Officers

Michelle Kosch (Cornell University)

Executive Committee Members-at-Large

Anika Simpson (Morgan State University)
Jason Stanley (Yale University)

Nominating Committee Members

Branden Fitelson (Northeastern University)
Jose Medina (Northwestern University)

Pacific Division

Vice President

Evan Thompson (University of British Columbia)

Executive Committee Member-at-Large

Vrinda Dalmiya (University of Hawaii at Manoa)


Rebecca Copenhaver (Lewis and Clark College)

Graduate Student Council

Heather Stewart (University of Western Ontario), 2019–2021
Michelle Elena Pefianco Thomas (San Francisco State University), 2019–2021
Sahar Heydari Fard (University of Cincinnati), 2019–2020

Bylaws Amendments

At its meeting in November 2018, the APA board proposed four amendments to the association bylaws. All four of the proposed amendments were approved by a majority of those voting in each of the divisions and have been adopted.


The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690