Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
K. Jon Barwise Prize
Share |


Photo of K. Jon Barwise from Indiana University Archives (P0043105)
K. Jon Barwise
Indiana University Archives

The American Philosophical Association, in conjunction with the APA committee on philosophy and computers, has established the K. Jon Barwise Prize for significant and sustained contributions to areas relevant to philosophy and computing by an APA member. The prize will serve to credit those within our profession for their life long efforts in this field. It will also serve to acknowledge and to encourage work in all areas relevant to the "computational turn" which is occurring in our profession. Examples of areas of interest to the committee in selecting candidates for this prize include the use of computers in the teaching of philosophy; the use of computers as research tools in philosophy; the philosophical aspects of artificial intelligence; and the area of computer ethics.

The committee selected the name of Jon Barwise for this Prize because his life's work exemplifies a concern with research and teaching; his efforts are often embodied in the production of courseware and changes of curriculum. His contributions were significant and sustained. Jon, in fact, is a model for the kind of philosopher we seek to acknowledge with the awarding of an annual Barwise Prize.


The Barwise Prize plaque will be awarded at an APA divisional meeting. Winners will offer a keynote talk at a computing and philosophy conference as well as a talk at one of the divisional APA meetings (sponsored by the APA committee on philosophy and computers).

Nomination Procedures

There are no submission or nomination procedures. The awardee is chosen by the committee on philosophy and computers. Suggestions for potential awardees may be directed to the current chair of the committee.

Previous Awardees


Margaret Boden (University of Sussex)


Gualtiero Piccinini (University of Missouri–St. Louis)


B. Jack Copeland (University of Canterbury)


Edward Zalta (Stanford University)


William Rapaport (University at Buffalo)


Helen Nissenbaum (New York University)


Colin Allen (Indiana University-Bloomington)


No award given.


Douglas R. Hofstadter (Indiana University Bloomington)


Jaakko Hintikka (Boston University)


Luciano Floridi (University of Hertfordshire)


Terry Bynum (Southern Connecticut State University)


David Chalmers (Australian National University)


James Moor (Dartmouth College)


Hubert Dreyfus (UC - Berkeley)


Deborah Johnson (University of Virginia)


Daniel Dennett (Tufts University)


Patrick Suppes (Stanford University)

The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690