Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
Book Prize
Share |

The Book Prize is awarded in odd years for the best, published book that was written by a younger scholar during the previous two years. The Book and Article Prizes replace the former Matchette Foundation Book Prize.


The winner of the award will receive $4,000 and be presented with the prize check during the annual prize reception at the Eastern Division meeting.

Frequency: Every other year in odd years

Award Amount: $4,000

Next Award: 2019

Next Deadline: January 15, 2019


The author must be a "younger scholar," meaning that the author (a) was 40 years of age or younger in the year the book was published, or (b) received his or her Ph.D. 10 or fewer years before the year in which the book was published. The nominee must be a member of the APA. The APA will contact nominated authors for assurances of eligibility and to secure copies of the nominated book.

Books published in the prior two years are eligible. Thus, for 2019, the prize will be awarded to a book published in 2017 or 2018. Eligibility is governed by the year of the book's copyright imprint.

Questions may be directed to


To be considered for the Book Prize, a book must be nominated by two members of the APA other than the author. A member may nominate only one book. Nominations need only identify the author, title, publisher, and publication date. 

Only members may submit nominations; please sign in to access the nomination form.

To submit a nomination, fill out the nomination form.

Selection Process

The winners will be selected by a committee appointed by the chair of the committee on lectures, publications, and research (LPR), in consultation with LPR committee members.

Previous Awardees


Gwen Bradford, Achievement (Oxford University Press)

Honorable Mention: Berislav Marušić, Evidence and Agency: Norms of Belief for Promising and Resolving (Oxford University Press)


Manuel VargasBuilding Better Beings: A Theory of Moral Responsibility (Oxford University Press)

Honorable Mentions:


Cara Nine, Global Justice and Territory (Oxford University Press)

Honorable Mentions:


Lisa Bortolotti, Delusions and Other Irrational Beliefs (Oxford University Press)

Honorable Mention: Jonathan Cohen, The Red and the Real: An Essay on Color Ontology (Oxford University Press)


Simon Keller, The Limits of Loyalty (Cambridge University Press)

Honorable Mentions:


Jason Stanley, Knowledge and Practical Interests (Oxford University Press)

Honorable Mentions:


Robert Pasnau, Thomas Aquinas on Human Nature (Cambridge University Press)

Honorable Mentions:


Ted Sider, Four-Dimensionalism: An Ontology of Persistence and Time (Oxford University Press)


Charles Siewert, The Significance of Consciousness (Princeton University Press)

Honorable Mention: Elijah Millgram, Practical Induction (Harvard University Press)


Michael Smith, The Moral Problem (Wiley)

Honorable Mentions:

The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690