Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
Joseph B. Gittler Award
Share |

The Joseph B. Gittler Award is given for an outstanding scholarly contribution in the field of the philosophy of one or more of the social sciences. The range of the social sciences is construed broadly so as to include anthropology, economics, education, government, history, psychology, sociology, and any other field that is normally located within the social science division in contemporary colleges and universities.

This prize was established in 2007 with funds donated by the estate of Joseph B. Gittler.

Photo courtesy of Brandeis University


$4,000. The winner will receive the award check at the annual prize reception at an APA divisional meeting.

Frequency: Annual

Next Deadline: March 15, 2020

Criteria and Eligibility

A contribution may be a book, a book chapter, a single article, or a connected set of articles. All nominated contributions must have been published within five years prior to the deadline. Nominated contributions may be co-authored, but a single individual must be designated as the proposed recipient of the award. Contributions will be limited to three articles or books per nominee. At least one of the submissions should be single-authored. The nominated author must be a member of the APA.

For questions, contact


Each nomination must be made by an APA member, other than the author. Each member may submit only one nomination. Nominations should include complete publication information and may include a statement in support of the nomination. The APA will contact nominated authors to confirm willingness to be considered and to secure copies of the nominated contributions and the author's CV. 

Only members may submit nominations; please sign in to access the nomination form.

To submit a nomination, fill out the nomination form.


A committee appointed by the APA will consider submissions and select a winner.


The American Psychological Foundation has a separate Joseph B. Gittler Prize, which is presented to a scholar whose body of work or whose individual work is judged to be a significant contribution to the philosophical foundations of psychology. For more information on that prize, including information on nominations, visit the APF website.



Robert Sugden (University of East Anglia)
The Community of Advantage: A Behavioural Economist's Defence of the Market, Oxford University Press


Francesco Guala (University of Milan)
Understanding Institutions: The Science and Philosophy of Living Together, Princeton University Press


Ronald Mallon (Washington University in St. Louis)
The Construction of Human Kinds, Oxford University Press


Brian Epstein (Tufts University)
The Ant Trap: Rebuilding the Foundations of the Social Sciences, Oxford University Press


Carol Gould (CUNY Graduate Center)
Interactive Democracy: The Social Roots of Global Justice, Cambridge University Press 


Sally Haslanger (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
Resisting Reality: Social Construction and Social Critique, Oxford University Press


Lawrence Shapiro (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Embodied Cognition, Routledge, Taylor & Francis


Daniel Hausman (University of Wisconsin)
Preference, Value, Choice, and Welfare, Cambridge University Press


Elizabeth S. Anderson (University of Michigan)
The Imperative of Integration, Princeton University Press


No award given


Samuel Fleischacker (University of Illinois, Chicago)
On Adam Smith's Wealth of Nations: A Philosophical Companion, Princeton University Press


Stephen Stich (Rutgers University)

The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690