Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join the APA
Israel Scheffler Prize in Philosophy of Education
Share |

The Israel Scheffler Prize in Philosophy of Education, in memory of Israel Scheffler, will be awarded every third year for either a book or a connected set of three or more papers, the most recent of which was published no more than five years previous, on a topic in philosophy of education, broadly construed. 
Photo courtesy of Harvard University   


The winner of the prize will receive a $1,000 award. If the selected book or connected work is co-authored, the authors will share equally in the $1,000 award.

Frequency: Every third year

Next award: 2020

Next deadline: February 15, 2020

The Scheffler Prize award check will normally be presented at the APA’s annual prize reception at the APA Eastern Division meeting.


A book of edited collections is ineligible for this prize. However, an editor may submit an essay that s/he wrote for a book of edited collections, as part of the connected set of three or more papers.

Only APA members are eligible for the prize.

Questions may be directed to


Either a book or a connected work (but not both) may be nominated for the prize by any APA member, including their authors.

Only members may submit nominations; please sign in to access the nomination form.

To submit a nomination, fill out the nomination form.


The selection committee of at least five will be formed by the APA for each prize cycle. The committee will consist of APA members, at least two of whom should be specialists in philosophy of education.

Currently serving members of the selection committee are not eligible for the Scheffler Prize. If an APA committee, such as the committee on lectures, publications, and research, oversees the prize selection, currently serving members of that committee are also ineligible for the prize.

Previous Awardees


Jennifer Morton (City College of New York)

The American Philosophical Association
University of Delaware
31 Amstel Avenue, Newark, DE 19716
Phone: 302.831.1112 | Fax: 302.831.8690